Moving the Mountain of “me”

  The same power that rose Jesus from the grave

The same power that commands the dead to wake

Lives in us, lives in us

The same power that moves mountains when He speaks

The same power that can calm a raging sea

Lives in us, lives in us

He lives in us, lives in us

Jeremy Camp

As I struggled this weekend at several points to be joyful and have a good attitude (choosing that word was quite ambitious of me!) this song played again and again. We all love the idea of faith that can move mountains. It’s very grand, powerful and awesome. But what about the faith that can change our attitude? To be honest that’s where I struggle the most. I get sucked into a bad attitude and excuse it like its no big deal to God, “I’ll be better tomorrow”, and who cares if for 24 hrs I’m a horrible witness by my lack of joy. He cares that’s Who. I had this thought cross my mind….that power to move mountains does live in me but let’s just say I literally moved a mountain with a wave of my hand would that glorify God? “Hey, check out this mountain I just moved, praise the Lord!” Or is God mainly wanting us to understand the amazing strength of His power in us to do impossible things, like move mountains, so we can be conquerors in practical things, like changing our attitudes, selfishness, fears, distrust ect. How we act and treat others most definitely has the ability to glorify God by displaying His power, love, and grace to a watching world. And how we act/treat others can have the opposite effect. Which of course reminds me of Pauls words, “If I had the gift of prophecy, and if I understood all of God’s secret plans and possessed all knowledge, and if I had such faith that I could move mountains, but didn’t love others, I would be nothing.” 1 Corinthians‬ ‭13:2‬

Simply put when I have a fearful, distrusting, gloomy attitude it’s not loving to others. And if I think moving mountains would be great I need to believe that changing my attitude would be even better!

I’m finding when it comes to my lack of joy it’s a faith problem. Choosing joy over sadness, frustration, anger, anxiety, fear, ect. is really hard for some of us to do. With myself I’m seeing a pattern of clinging to my negative feelings as a way to try and control. When I’m confronted with needing to choose joy in the moment it feels like this huge impossible act of faith to let go and trust God. I can just see myself clinging to fear “Are you sure God? Can I really let this go, trust you, and be joyful, no matter the outcome? Are you sure? Are you sure? Are you sure?” 

My daughter, Micaila, has fears (probably thanks to me) about certain things. And whenever she gets really worked up and emotional I try to instill truth and confidence in her because I know her fear, typically, is unwarranted and that she will be okay. All I want is for her to trust me, her mother, and to not be afraid. 

I know God is using Micaila to convey the same message to me. 🙂

“You don’t have enough faith,” Jesus told them. “I tell you the truth, if you had faith even as small as a mustard seed, you could say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it would move. Nothing would be impossible. ” Matthew‬ ‭17:20‬ ‭

I can just hear Jesus saying “Katie, you are lacking faith when you choose fear over joy, anger over joy, gloom over joy, guilt over joy. The same power that moves mountains lives in you and this power, Me, wants to start with your joy.” Maybe not as impressive as moving a mountain but definitely important for giving glory to God.

Lord Jesus I pray I would have faith to move mountains and it would be reflected in my attitude and daily trusting you. Help all of us as Christians to see the importance of how we act. That being surrendered to the Holy Spirit will result in a changed mind, heart, and life. May we not be cavalier with our sinful attitudes or actions but have the desire and will to do only what pleases You Lord. 

2 thoughts on “Moving the Mountain of “me”

  1. So true, Kate. The sensational mountain moving appeals to my flesh that loves to be validated in spectacular ways.😁 The tedious, daily discipline and cooperation with God that moves the mountains of bad attitude, selfishness, and ungracious speech, though not noticeably spectacular IS as you said, quite miraculous!!!!😇

Leave a Reply

