Nerf Wars

I admit that as a parent I am not necessarily the “playful” type. This has always been Jason’s strength and I’m grateful for that. Somehow he can even involve our kids in projects around the house like painting and building and make it fun. That’s a gift if you ask me! My attempts to play with our children usually feel tired, forced and mechanical. I guess I left my imagination back in middle school when I used to pretend I was Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Don’t get me wrong. I enjoy playing and having fun,… mostly with Jason and other adults. With my children I lean towards the serious, structured, caregiving side. Somebody’s gotta do it. 😉 Jason on the other hand is naturally playful and being married to him is helping develop more of that spirit in me. 🙂 It’s so neat to see how God uses our differences to help strengthen each other’s weaknesses.

Back to becoming a more playful mommy because I recognize its importance. I heard this said, in regards to parenting teens, “Rules without relationship lead to rebellion.” We begin forming a certain kind of relationship with our kids long before the teen years. I see my weak areas and honestly, it terrifies me to consider the possible negative effects my flaws could have on my children. Being a parent is a seriously scary responsibility. Am I the only one who ever considers “What if I totally mess my kids up?” Having confessed that though….. I also have Jesus. 🙂 I know He can change me as I acknowledge my need for Him.

Philippians 1:4-6 “In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now, being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”

Can I get an Amen?!

So to the fun part! Our girls were given nerf guns for Christmas. Also- I have discovered the toy that brings ol’ Buffy out to play with the kiddos. Enter the crossbow and darts; this is so totally on! We have been having so much fun with these things that Jason decided it was necessary for him to purchase a few more. I mean, it’s for quality time’s sake. 🙂 Last week, after buying our new weapons, Jason devised a surprise attack for when the girls came home from school. To say it was awesome is an understatement. If you have older kids you need to get some nerf wars going. Actually, if you have no kids you should get some nerf wars going. I recommend having dinner already made though because you will play for hours and probably lose track of time and then be hungry from all the energy you just expelled. And yes, people will most likely get shot in the face and that’s why you wear sunglasses. Caleb shot me point blank in the forehead. Traitor.

But not every night can be a nerf war night. I feel it necessary to paint a more accurate picture. Some nights we are tired,…. okay me…. like every night. There’s math to be done and we’re wishing we had a homework pass. Dinner needs to be made and honestly I don’t love to cook. Some evenings Caleb is a hot mess working toward a hot bottom. Other nights the girls are having their attitude adjusted by privileges being revoked.

It’s not always one way or the other. Some days are joyful, sweet and fun, other days are long, tough and weary. Then there are those days that just pass. God is always at work and is always good even if I’m not “feeling it”.

I just love what Paul says in Acts 20:24 “However, I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me- the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace.”

And there you have it. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Nerf Wars

Leave a Reply

