Saturdays

I hope I don’t ever forget Saturdays like today. I wish Jason were here to indulge in them with me. Nothing exciting is really happening and yet that’s everything I love about it. The weather is beautiful. It was cool this morning but because our house faces the east the sunrise keeps the porch nice and warm. I made my coffee and we headed out to soak it all up. Micaila set up her chair and books and began reading,…… to Sundance and Trinity. It’s a new thing of hers. Friday evening she sat and, no exaggeration, read to them for at least 45 minutes. Seriously, they stood corralled around her as if they were attending story time at the library. They seem to enjoy it as much as she does, Jake too. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then there is Ryann.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

She is just now coming into her own ability and love for reading. Praise the Lord!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

She wanted to set up shop next to me. What a treat it all was. We just sat, spread about the yard and read in all the peaceful, quiet, beauty of God’s creation. Well with the exception of wild man Caleb growling, yelling, jumping, running, throwing, and water gun squirting in our midst. Can’t forget about that crazy little guy! OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Even his boisterous presence on this splendid morning brought delight and laughter.

If only you could witness him and Ramsey go at it. We might have a future wrangler on our hands.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After the quiet time I set out to clean the house and do laundry. Even the duties that normally can be so monotonous were abnormally enjoyable for me today. The fall breeze flowing throughout the house was so invigorating. Fall always has been my favorite time of year. Even before I knew what a real fall was I loved it. The kids were out having their run of the property. I love that they can freely explore and it’s so fun to watch them use their imaginations. The girls were dragging their baby dolls around in spring baskets. I can only imagine the things they were pretending. Caleb, just trailing behind them, occasionally reprimanding the dog or the goat. “No Ramsey. No Jake. Don’t doooo that!”
These are precious times. A good ol’ boring Saturday. Now after all the chores are done, we find ourselves back on the porch, eagerly waiting for Daddy to get home from work.
This is the day the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it. 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 thoughts on “Saturdays

  1. Such an appropriate verse for such a beautiful day! I just love how Micaila sits and reads to the horses and they stand there and listen to her! You got to wonder if they even understand! And love the picture of Jake in the doorway, so southern!! Lol

    • I couldn’t think of the reference for the verse all, I could think of was a song from my childhood that helped me learn it lol! It was so fitting though. And oh, Jakey boy, he fits right in with the quintessential southern farm life. 🙂 hope all is well Karen!

Leave a Reply

