After all this time, one little surprise.

It seems like we have been waiting years for this to finally happen. I was beginning to think we were totally doing something wrong. In fact, I finally buckled down, went to the library and checked our 3 books on farming. One completely dedicated to raising chickens, called the Joy of Keeping Chickens. If you are looking for a book on chickens this one is excellent. Another book I read that was funny, informative and inspiring was Made from Scratch. I’m telling you this gal will have you in stitches laughing and ready to do it all from sewing to beekeeping, I really enjoyed her book. She made me realize that every “farmer” encounters loss and surprises in their journey.

So we had gone away for the weekend to attend a good friend’s wedding. I have come to appreciate weddings more and more with every passing year of marriage. It can be such a beautiful relationship and I’m so glad God created it. Every wedding is special but I particularly loved the brides simple and laid back approach to the wedding event itself. To give you an idea of how laid back she was, she ran a 5k the morning of. I knew I liked this girl. 🙂 Before the big day I had several conversations with Jakki and she said one thing to me that just made me grin and think “This girl is on the right track!” She said “I’m more concerned about creating a beautiful marriage than a beautiful wedding.” I just loved that perspective. They wrote their vows and even as simple as they kept it, it was still gorgeous. She was a beautiful bride. Her and our old friend Michael are head over heels in love and it’s evident they mean to take those vows seriously.

So anyway, back to the chickens. We came home at 1:30 Monday morning and went to make sure no one had been eaten. Because I learned chickens, under certain circumstances, will eat each other.

And there it was.

One little brown egg.

I can’t even tell you how delightful it was to find that one small gift. It’s like everything we have done for these feathery friends is finally becoming really worth it. I couldn’t help but think if Chippy were here, she would probably be laying too. :tear: We will totally eat that first egg in Chippy’s honor.

I was so proud of my girl Penny this morning I went down and started sprucing that coop up with fresh bedding and a nest of her very own. Later in the evening the girls were helping me and Ryann said “Wow, this looks comfy. I wish I was a chicken, except…… then I would get eaten.” 🙂  hehe. I hope Penny will take to the nesting box. We’ve stuck one out there before and it usually just gets pooped in. I don’t know what we are gonna do with her 2 possessive boyfriends though. Peck and Abney, the roosters, do not leave her side. And they will fight you for her too. I was trying to seclude her today to make sure if she lay again we would definitely find it. Those 2 feisty roosters were puffin up like ultimate fighters ready to take me down. I think it’s time we have them for dinner!

So I just had to share with you all that we finally have some eggs! Okay 1 egg. That one egg means SUCCESS in my book. Woohoo! Keep them coming Penny.

One thought on “After all this time, one little surprise.

Leave a Reply

