Somewhat Crafty, Somewhat Crispy

Maybe a year or two ago you might recall me posting about my non existent baking abilities. I thought I had come a long way from taking instructions like “mix by hand” literally. Or the time I tried to use a cookie cutter on cookies before they were cooked. “Why are these pumpkins SO fat?! And how do people get perfectly cut cookie shapes? What good are you cookie cutter?!?” I don’t know why I must do things with out studying the proper way. It’s a sickness. It’s so frustrating. Am I incapable of breaking free from thinking I can discover the right way on my own?

I actually did not mean for this to take on a Spiritual undertone but goodness, that does sound like my approach to faith, God and the Bible sometimes!

Who needs a manual? Umm, me. Definitely me.

This week I was making a gift for my cousin. It’s part of her wedding present, totally belated. What can I say, I love dragging out celebrations 🙂 So it started with inspiration, a photo of course, off Pinterest. All I need is the pretty picture, don’t bore me with instructions, I totally got this.

IMG_4513.JPGClearly, this is handled.

At one point all that mess was on the floor with a Barbie tangled up in it.
Seriously Barbie, if you aren’t going to help, go have a pool party, or a fiesta, or something.

You see, I started to wrap the letter and realized the spool was not going to fit through that hole so I had the B-rilliant idea to unwind it ALL, just to figure out that allllllll that twine would have to come back up through said hole. So then, I had to begin untangling. Which requires me to cut, which led to just wrapping the O with sections of twine. Which I probably would have READ about had I looked at some directions or watched a tutorial.

Dear Katharyn, There is a way. It’s not your way, its a better way. A bit more simple than your complicated ways. A way that still requires you to work, but definitely will guide you one section at a time. You might make a few mistakes but likely they’ll be easier undone or at least repairable.

So I did finally seek instructions. A few tutorials later, here, here, and here. I finished this adorable O to adorn my cousins front door on her first home. Well hopefully, if she likes it. Haha! I went for the crocheted embellishment because I sort of know how to crochet. 😉

IMG_4527.JPGIsn’t that just like some of us as Christians sometimes. We think either we know it all or we will wing it on the way. We have got to humble ourselves to our Creator and His Word daily. We have to learn about him, Who he is, how he operates, so we can approach life with his eyes, wisdom and guidance.

Okay so one more story because this will just make you laugh. I am TRYING to get better at making home made snack foods for the kids. Not because I’m a health nut, I mean, I like to be healthy but again, my way, chocolate, Chickfila, you get the picture. This is about saving money. I was making Rice Crispy treats, that’s completely healthy right? I don’t know what’s in a marshmallow but I know what’s in the rest of these treats, butter, crispies,……good enough for me! So I had them made, cooling in the pan and I began to start dinner. I had been browning meat and making sauce, everything is great. I went to boil my pasta and then I remembered we have FRESH basil in our garden. That belongs in my sauce pronto. So I march outside, pick off some leaves, at this point I am feeling like a total winner, growing and picking my own herbs. Yeah it doesn’t take much. I come inside and smell roasting marshmallows. Oh how lovely, it’s like we’re camping. Come to find out I need to get to know my stove because I turned on the wrong burner and was instead boiling my beautiful scrumptious rice crispy treats.

IMG_4518.JPG

IMG_4519.JPGI managed to salvage a few but Micaila did inquire the next day “Did you burn those rice crispy treats?” I guess even though they looked fine on the outside, the pungency of all the roasting seeped into the whole batch.

I hope you found these moments to be as teachable and funny as I did. 🙂

In His grace,
Katie

One thought on “Somewhat Crafty, Somewhat Crispy

  1. That is great that you are making home made snacks, i bet they were super yummy! I love Chick Fil A also but we do try to eat healthy…Apart from chocolate and ice cream…Hahaha

Leave a Reply

