Exercising gratitude

I receive quick little devotionals in my email from Rick Warren and this one on Gratitude was a good reminder.

I love taking pictures, mainly of and with people. I am all about capturing moments. Like every moment. Who isn’t though these days? πŸ˜‰ What’s that saying “a picture is worth a thousand words”….. yep that’s for sure but I’d like to go ahead and add a thousand words to the photo. I enjoy writing things down. Especially family stuff and most favoritely kid stuff. This sort of journalling helps me to be grateful. Grateful for moments like these. So thankful for the time God gives us with the people we love. Here we go. πŸ˜ƒ

Micaila is 7 years old now. Which is so crazy to me. Turning 7 and being in first grade has brought about a lot of new character traits. (Some good some we can definitely work on 😁 let’s focus on the good for this postπŸ˜‰) I’m so grateful that I can say Micaila has a love for reading. Praying that we would cultivate this love and that as she grows it would translate into a love for reading Gods Word. Another one of my favorite things about her is the growing ability to care for the younger children around her. She has always had a strong nurturing quality and it is lovely to see her flourish in that. She is such a good big sister and cousin. So proud of her for being sweet and responsible when it comes to the little kiddos.

20140604-183431.jpgMicaila and her cousin Emma

Ryann will be 6 soon. Ryann loves insects and lizards and frogs and is fearless when it comes to catching them. I try not to be grossed out and just embrace this adventurous quality in her. Admittedly I very much admire this difference between her and I, she’s my girly girl that loves slimy and dirty outdoors. As good ol George Strait puts it, a pretty little perfect mess. One of my favorite things about Ryann is her thoughtfulness. She is my note writer. Everyday after school she would have at least 3 different pictures and notes all stapled and glued together with hearts and “I love you mommy, love Ryann” written everywhere. And she always wants to send notes to other people in the mail. Like get well cards for popi or pictures for friends. Recently I was really impressed by her thoughtfulness and generosity when we took her and big sis Micaila out for games and putt putt. With her coins she saw a grab machine to win a cool bouncy ball and she insisted on trying to win one for Caleb who wasn’t with us. She did. I was so proud of her for giving it to him and so far she hasn’t tried taking it back. She does sometimes do that haha!

20140605-103058.jpgMaking mud pies of course

Caleb, Caleb, Caleb. What a boy. We have been traveling a lot lately and let me tell you, I listened to him for about 7 hours pointing out every. single. tractor we passed. “TRACTOR! TRACTOR! Mommy!! TRACTOR!” I love it and I never realized how many tractors there were until now. πŸ˜‰ This child loves being loud, running, riding, kicking, SPLASHING and throwing, everything. Simply enjoying life as much as any (almost) 2 year old boy would. He is a spectacular crazy little treat to have around.

20140604-184004.jpgWhen his favorite stuffed animal is a pelican, named Bert, that mommy won out of a grab machine πŸ™‚ ❀

We get overwhelmed sometimes, life is not always these "picture perfect moments". It takes patient, persistent, intentional work to become who God wants us to be. And sometimes it looks messy and tiring (for me it's looked downright ugly at points) and sometimes it's wonderful and lively and I'm learning that in any of the moments I can choose to see so much grace from God.

20140604-184604.jpg

20140604-184231.jpgbeautiful mess. πŸ™‚

One thought on “Exercising gratitude

Leave a Reply

