Trusting God through the storms

Storm season has officially begun. We have our first severe weather alerts right now, flood and tornado warnings. I was never particularly anxious about tornados when we lived at our old house. I was anxious this evening. I started having this conversation with myself in my head.

“What if we lost everything? Would you be okay with that? If you lost this beautiful home you just moved into, all your possessions, new and old,… What if we wake up tomorrow and we have only our pjs on…. No shoes, no change of clothes, everything just gone into a big pile of rubble. Will you still believe God loves you? Will you still love him?or is your love only conditional? Will you still trust him and want to glorify him with what’s left, if anything at all? What if?”

Now I realize those are some deep heavy thoughts. As my mind started spiraling out of control into what if world I knew exactly what I had to acknowledge.

First I did call my mommy though. She re-emphasized everything the Spirit was prompting on my heart. I can’t even say how thankful I am for that godly woman.

I knew that exercising my faith is an actual action and it involves me telling God (what he is already well aware of) that I am struggling in an area and I do, desperately, want to believe and trust him. Remember when the father in Mark, that had the demon possessed son, wanted Jesus to cast out the demon and he says at one point “I do believe, but help me overcome my unbelief!” (Mark 9:24 NLT) I love that story because often times it’s so me.

I want to confidently say “yes! Even if I lost everything I would trust you and love you and declare your glory. It was yours to give and yours to take.” But that’s SCARY to consider. And sometimes we do have to ask God to help us in our weak moments of unbelief.

I don’t want to fear what would happen if we lost everything because I want to trust that God can and will provide. That he would care for us just like he does the sparrows and we could still be used by him even if we lost everything. I cherish what God has given us but I don’t want to place our things above the main thing, glorifying God. And I really want to come to a place where I can say “God if you need to take something away so I can better glorify you than by all means do it!” (Again, that’s a scary, faith filled, statement)

I also never ever want to take for granted the health and safety he has given us this far. The truth is there have been countless families who have woken up with nothing but rubble. People who’ve lost family, children, parents, siblings, friends. It stinks when you are praying for a storm to move out of your direction and yet you know “it’s going to hit someone, somewhere.” No matter where the storm hits I pray we would know and believe God DOES love us. I can’t imagine what it’s like to walk through something tragic, I never have. We are lifting up past, present, and future storm victims. I also know life brings other storms and I hope that these scriptures will bring comfort to whoever needs it. Because truly, without our Father in Heaven we have no comfort or hope. I am grateful that I can cling to my Savior at all times. These scriptures came through my email a few days ago and I copied them to my “notes” where I keep scripture for quick access. Initially I had shared them with a friend who’s family had a major life storm. I had no idea how relevant they would be to me this evening. But that’s just how awesome God is.

I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. (John 10:28, 29 NIV)

The lord will hold you in his hand for all to see— a splendid crown in the hand of God. (Isaiah 62:3 NLT)

We can make our plans, but the lord determines our steps. (Proverbs 16:9 NLT)

But Jesus overheard them and said to Jairus, “Don’t be afraid. Just have faith.” (Mark 5:36 NLT)

One thought on “Trusting God through the storms

  1. Katie, I’m so proud of the godly woman you are and the increasing growth I see in you. Truth is the growth I see is because of the challenges you face everyday. God is so kind to provide them in exactly the right size and duration to encourage our depence on Him and thus our “growing up in the fullness of Christ”. You can trust Him…His love is in everything.

Leave a Reply

