Be confident my heart…..

20140203-152210.jpg

Indeed. I took this picture in my favorite spot at our wonderful, gracious hosts home. 😃 We are staying a few weeks with our cousins, hoping to close on our home soon.

As we go through life, it ebbs and flows, but God and his goodness is steady and true. Sometimes I will read a particular scripture and it will just melt me. In a good way. Like melted chocolate, not like a melted Olaf. 😏

I keep coming back to my need to know God more deeply every day. Whatever insecurities or fears I have are all wrapped up in needing to know God more. The better you know someone the better you know their character. Knowing a persons character allows you to regard them as trustworthy or untrustworthy. God is perfect and there are absolutely no flaws in his character. Therefore what he says and what he has done is trustworthy. If I have trust/belief issues it’s because I am forgetting why he is to be trusted. Often times this happens when I am neglecting to spend time in his Word and in communion with him. However there are times when a new challenge or fear surfaces that I haven’t exercised my trust in Him with. Which becomes a learning process and requires the same, his Word and prayer. I want to deeply know Him. To me there is nothing more important. Everything in life hangs on how well I know God. Every fear, doubt, worry, or disobedience is a matter of disbelieving that God can fully meet the need. Faith is not just believing God exists. It’s believing every single thing he has told us in his Word and that he has/can/will accomplish it.

A lack of trust suggests we are afraid of something. Life is constantly changing and we have different fears in different seasons. My big fear right now could be wrapped up in fear of failure. And there are oh.so.many layers to those 3 words.

Below I am listing some of the fears I have off the top of my head with some scripture I have found to combat the fear with.

Fear of failing God. This is where my performance and legalism get me.

We conclude that a person has God’s approval by faith, not by his own efforts. (Romans 3:28 GW)

Even before he made the world, God loved us and chose us in Christ to be holy and without fault in his eyes. (Ephesians 1:4 NLT)

Fear of failing people. You want to talk about some layers, yikes. Obsessively trying to please others keeps me from feeling free to be myself, to be who God wants me to be. I can’t be very effective in glorifying God if I’m overly concerned about what everyone thinks of me. That’s pre occupation with self. I must be simply occupied and satisfied with God.

Obviously, I’m not trying to win the approval of people, but of God. If pleasing people were my goal, I would not be Christ’s servant. (Galatians 1:10 NLT)

Fear of failing commitments. There may come a point after I’ve committed to something with the best of intentions and God just needs me to step back and allow him to work. Possibly because I began working in my own strength and wasn’t allowing God full control or all the glory. I recently had to relinquish control over a situation and it required acknowledging a huge amount of pride I didn’t know existed. It was so hard being honest with myself, but allowing God to humble me brought about freedom.

Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him, and he will help you. (Psalms 37:5 NLT)

For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts. (Isaiah 55:9 NLT)

And what does God tell us about fear itself?

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline. (2 Timothy 1:7 NLT)

Memorizing and meditating on scripture play a huge role in my believing and trusting God. In my desperation to know God and completely trust him I can’t get enough of his Word. That’s a cool thing too. No matter how long you’ve been a Christian the living Word of God will always grip you and teach you. God is glorious. May he be lifted high for the great things he has done and great things to come.

“Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and will not be afraid; for the Lord God is my strength and my song, and he has become my salvation.” “Sing praises to the Lord, for he has done gloriously; let this be made known in all the earth. Shout, and sing for joy, O inhabitant of Zion, for great in your midst is the Holy One of Israel.” (Isaiah 12:2, 5, 6 ESV)

Leave a Reply

