Legacy: Parenting by Design Devotional

Parenting is super hard. It’s also incredibly rewarding when we do it in partnership with God, our Heavenly Father, the Creator and Designer of the family. Jason and I have been running into some new parenting hurdles with our girls getting older and the addition of our foster daughter. The good news of this is it draws us near to God in search of his will and the right thing to do. I really like this daily devotional Parenting by Design through Youversion. Its something I can access quickly when I need some truth to hold me accountable. I need to have scripture on hand all the time and the prayer line open. Otherwise I make excuses and justify my poor behaviors, attitudes and choices. This was the devotional I read today and it resonated deeply with me. I think we all want to leave a Legacy and I want ours more than anything to be marked with Gods Love. It’s a lot of work with lots of intentional actions to fight against the battle of sin. But we can do this! Be encouraged, his grace is enough.

LEGACY: Parenting by design

God knows the consequences of sin and pleads for us to obey his commands. He lets us know in advance that our choices will have lasting consequences for us and for our children. Sinful choices can be the beginning of destructive family patterns that often carry on generation after generation.

But God’s mercy far outweighs his judgment. Many more generations will be blessed if we choose to love and obey Him. In the face of temptation, remember that the way we live our lives establishes a lasting legacy, either in the form of blessings or punishments. What will we choose to give our children and the generations that follow?

When faced with temptation, consider the legacy that sin passes on to your children.

Don’t bow down and worship idols. I am the Lord your God, and I demand all your love. If you reject me and worship idols, I will punish your families for three or four generations. But if you love me and obey my laws, I will be kind to your families for thousands of generations. (Deuteronomy 5:9, 10 CEV)

Leave a Reply

