Fullness at its best

I will try to make this brief, but you know how good I am at that πŸ˜‰

God is always faithful and his Word is true. Completely, 100%, infallible.

My days are long. I’m just getting used to this new development. Now that the girls are in school I have to be up every weekday morning by 6:30. From that point on it is go time- all the time. Fortunately the littles take naps. Unfortunately not at the same time lol. God is always amazing me with his provision. Lately it has been energy.

Sometimes I want to covet my sleep. This doesn’t really effect anyone except my husband. Obviously when the kids are asleep is when we can be alone. Friday I was tiiiiired. I wanted to crash early but my man was lookin for some porch time. So I reluctantly stayed outside and at the end was so glad I did. It really is the simple things. We talked till midnight which is a time that I rarely see unless its after already having gone to bed.

I felt so full after that.

Initially it felt like a huge sacrifice. Seriously, I can’t even explain how important my rest is to me. And yet God blessed that time I got to spend alone with Jason.

I told you we had continued foster training. I knew it would be good but I didn’t know to what degree of awesomeness. It was SO GOOD. If you are a foster parent, find Christian based training and do it! You will be so glad.

And again I felt full.

Even though I knew it would benefit our family and the children we foster, if given the option to skip I probably would have. It was 3 hours of training and 2 hours of driving. And lets face it, I’m selfish by nature. That’s a lot of time and effort. But again, despite my natural inclination to think my time is mine, God blessed the obedience.

and filled me up.

This morning after worship I was asked to stick around at the Help Center. I had asked for a grace period while we adjusted to fostering but with Fall Break they were short. I wasn’t feeling up to it. But again, I left feeling like God gave me back more than I actually put in. I mean I showed up. And yet now, after engaging with people in Gods sanctuary, some deep in their faith, others new to the church, I feel so blessed.

I just feel FULL, content, happy, joyful….

This is NOT about boasting in my accomplishments. I was reluctant to do some of those things. I was doubtful that any of it would make any difference. I am selfish and self seeking unless the Spirit is in the drivers seat. God showed me again that it’s more blessed to give than to receive. He showed me again that sacrifice and obedience will be honored. He showed me again that it’s not about ME it’s all about Him. And when I put Him before me it actually is better for me!

The catch phrase from today’s sermon:

I get to.

I get to faithfully love and serve this man.

20130922-151304.jpg

I get to care for and grow up these beautiful kiddos. And more!

20130922-151523.jpg

20130922-151537.jpg

20130922-151557.jpg

20130922-151644.jpg

I get to give.
I get to serve.
I get to love.
I get to…….

2 thoughts on “Fullness at its best

  1. Your post reminds me of Proverbs 11:25 “…those who refresh others will themselves be refreshed.” I, too, am learning this difficult lesson. Many times we long for “me” time, I know I especially crave it being an introvert and just wanting to get back in my shell where it’s comfortable. But we can, in fact, get energized, get refilled, etc. from serving and building relationship. I hope you are able to get some good sleep soon, too! πŸ™‚ I totally get the love for sleep…a solid 8 hours is like a mini-vacation sometimes!

  2. This is soooooo true, Kate. It is like that simple phrase, “You can’t out give God!” or to put it scripturally, “Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap.” Luke 6:38a

Leave a Reply

