Freeeeedoooom ;-)

The girls started school! What a big change that has brought in our normal day. I’m so excited for them and confident this was the right thing to do for our family. Homeschooling Micaila last year was a good thing and fit that time in our life, but we needed to do things differently this year. With fostering and the age Caleb is at, I feel like I can be more effective in my roles while they get taught during the day. I feel this amount of time will enable me to focus on serving. Serving our family, foster children, friends, and whoever the Lord places in my life. I’m excited about the freedom but I want to use the time wisely.

Did I put this in a previous blog, a visiting pastor a few weeks ago said “You are never more like Jesus then when you are serving.” How I long to be like Jesus. πŸ™‚ Jesus loved others and was completely filled with peace, joy, contentment, among other things. What more could we want? Love, joy, peace,…. I know it’s all true because in the throws of serving I am not preoccupied with self which is what tends to rob me of all those good things like love and peace.

Speaking of serving I have been blessed to BE served. My cousin Nicole, who is so thoughtful and I admire that about her so much, orchestrated friends to bring us a few meals. It couldn’t have come at a better time.

Can I announce that the honeymoon is over? Not that it’s horrible now but we definitely have a 2 year old in the house. Things that alerted me of this: I feel an urge to carry a paint brush and magic eraser around at all times. Hiney wiping is back at a high for me. πŸ˜‰

So we have been blessed this week and last with some yummy meals and I am beyond grateful and feel quite spoiled. Isn’t that amazing? How one meal can seriously change your life that day. And that is something I want to strive for during the day when the girls are at school. Who could use that life changing meal today? It may be someone who recently brought me one! Or it may be a total stranger.

Something else I was struck by when receiving these wonderful gifts of food. I have a very difficult time accepting service. It just feels weird to me for some reason. Like I feel so undeserving or that maybe it’s too much trouble for the server. (This is all part of my melancholy over thinking temperament) I want to just gladly and guiltlessly accept the blessing. Why do we feel this way? (I’m not the only one who feels this way, right?) This is why we HAVE the body of Christ, so we can support and encourage each other. My own struggle of being served reminds me (a well as my mother reminding me) of the attitude I should ALWAYS have as a servant.
2 Corinthians 9:7b God loves a cheerful giver.
I admit that there have been times when I have given, wether it was time, money, food, ect. and I just want someone, anyone, to know it was sacrificial on my part and “please just pat me on the back, and tell me I am doing a good thing.” I know this comes from my own insecurity and desire to equate my worth from humans. Instead I need to be confident and content with my worth coming from Him alone.

I pray that during the day not only will I be aware and seek opportunities to serve but that I will do so with a pure heart, pure motives, and purely for my Father in Heaven. I know this will come from spending time with him, so I just pray I will be careful with my days and spend each moment wisely.

So, time to get off this blog and be intentional with the rest of my day HIS day.

Interactive question time. Don’t all the good bloggers do this?

What’s a good way for stay at home moms to minister to others? Give me all you got! πŸ˜‰

One thought on “Freeeeedoooom ;-)

  1. Oh…you know me….you ask for advice…I’m all in! First of all, you are on the right track. Serve your family first. 2nd- you again got it again…serve others CHEERFULLY the way you would like to be served. Lastly, when the Holy Spirit whispers in your heart, “call, write, make a meal, serve, give money, love this person. No matter how random it may seem…Just Do It!”
    PS- I love your desire and intentionality in obedience to Christ! I know it costs you….and that, my daughter, is discipleship! Proud to be your mama!

Leave a Reply

