Not perfect

In case I hadn’t told you I’m not perfect and our family isn’t perfect. It’s so easy to write about the good times. I mean who wants to read a depressing blog about all the ugly imperfections of our family. Not me! Its not fun to write about either. But we do have them, imperfections.

I wrote yesterday about how well our first placement is going. Which is completely true. But I didn’t mention that, though she is a delight, and very easy to care for and love, she’s still a child and children require work. So we have 4 little ones that all have different needs and all require different levels of work. We also have a marriage that requires work. And so, a lot of my posts will be about happy times and sweet moments but don’t be deceived. That’s not why this blog is here. I would never want you to read it and think everything is always Lolli pops and gum drops around here. Sometimes I just want to cry because I feel like I can’t do it. Sometimes I have moments of weakness and satan pounces on me with all kinds of lies to devalue me and make me feel like I have no business being a mom or wife or fostering. But what’s that verse everyone loves to quote? (Rhetorical question obviously) Yet so quickly we disbelieve, which is evident by our actions and behaviors.

“For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.” (Philippians 4:13 NLT)

I believe this! I believe him! He put that there because its true.

Earlier in the book of Philippians Paul writes “I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.” (Philippians 3:14 NLT)

When I talk about those moments that by worldly standards we might be “falling apart” it’s to encourage you. That you may feel at points that you’re falling apart and maybe you even think you have no business serving or meeting the needs of others because you feel so broken. As a visiting pastor once told our congregation “Serve out of your brokenness”. Because the fact is we will never reach perfection so if you are waiting on that or to have it “all together” you’ll be waiting forever.

Right now in the midst of all these changes that have so much potential to honor God satan wants to destroy our efforts. So we have moments of amazing grace and blessing and we have moments on our knees in prayer for strength. But it’s Him that meets us and reveals to us all the grace and glory and love we need. And I’ll tell you, before I started this I was praying for strength and discernment and when I hit publish I will begin again in prayer. And forgive me for being repetitive but we are so grateful for all your prayers on our behalf. Thank you. Seriously, THANK YOU. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Not perfect

  1. This reminds me of 2 Corinthians 12:9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

    In our weakness, He is strong. And “serving out of our brokenness” as you so perfectly put it, points people to Jesus and our great need for Him.

    Thank you for your transparency. May the Lord continue to strengthen your family. One day at a time. I know that He will give you what you need as you come to need it. Your family continues to be in my prayers, Katie!

    • Yes! Thank you for that scripture! I love when you post comments because I feel like I learn something through you and what the Holy Spirit lays on your heart. I just love the body of Christ. Thank you for the prayers. 🙂

  2. Gosh Katie, here I thought you were perfect!!! Lol. Seriously I needed to hear this because I’ve been questioning my faith a lot today, how awful I am sometimes with my grand daughters and the oldest one even telling me that I am a mean grandma today!! Or God ain’t going to like what you are doing and boy does that hit you right in the face!! Almost like he is talking to me thru her! And in my reading I’m in Judges, talk about disobedience! Can’t get much plainer to me!! So I’m right there with you sister!

    • Oh Karen, my moms comment above just adds to this. I feel for you. Especially because Micaila (for the first time) told me I was mean a little over a week ago. It really hurts because we do want to be liked and certainly not perceived as mean. But we have jobs to do as moms and grandmoms and sometimes kids think its mean. I told Micaila she really doesn’t know what “mean” is. One day they’ll understand. Press on sister!

  3. Thank you, Katie for being open and honest. “Ministry” which is living life as a Christian, regardless if you are a missionary or a mom, is full of challenges, disappointments, gains and what we would consider losses. God uses it all and never wastes anything. I’m so glad He does. My love nd prayers are with you.

    • My sweet mommy. Words can’t even express how much I love you and appreciate your sensitivity to both the Spirit and me. I also feel like one day I want to have you as a guest blogger. Miss you so much.

      • Ah, Kate! You were the clearest expression of God’s love for me the day you were born! Every year that goes by only reaffirms that love and I’m so proud of the godly woman you strive, struggle and become more and more, with each passing day. To God be the glory!

Leave a Reply

