First timers

We got the call yesterday around 4. Little girl, 2 years old. Linda, my mother in law, and I were at the mall shopping for bedroom essentials to get everything re arranged and set up. I called Jason to alert him and make sure he was definitely ready and responded to our agency with a yes. At that point they then have to call DFACS back and see if the child hasn’t been already placed. She wasn’t so she was coming to us. I can’t give any detailed personal information about her but I did want to share our first evening.

She bounced right in our home and gave Ryann a big hug. She really connects with the kids. She was all over the furniture, jumping off tables, and the fire place. She was mesmerized by all of our things, going from one play station to the next. Pulling out toys and baby dolls, throwing some here and there. I thought “bye bye clean house, nice knowing you.” πŸ˜‰ She is going to make me a better person.

Going to bed was interesting. After our consultant left, everyone ate and had baths, it was 8 something, so I initiated her bed time. We first tried the crib which she quickly revealed she could climb in and out of no problemo. She ended up in a twin bed. In the interim we rocked and read a book and I ended up sitting on the floor next to her till she fell asleep around 11.

I wouldn’t say I personally slept great. I stayed on alert. (which being a mom we already do to some degree) but all in all I’d say the first night went well.

Today has been pretty calm. She’s quite compliant and teachable. She listens fairly well for being 2! She is gaining all of our affection and capturing our hearts.

Obviously you contemplate a lot. She’s so little. What is she thinking? Is she scared? Does she miss her family? I don’t know the answers to any of these questions but I’m determined to love her however I can.

She makes it easy so far. I feel spoiled. πŸ™‚

I think about her mom. I feel sad for her as she wonders who has her baby girl. I didn’t know what I would feel (humanly speaking) toward the parents and I haven’t met them yet but right now I wish they would know that I’m not against them. That I don’t want to take their little girl. I would hope they’d understand that we don’t want to replace them we just want to help. I’m praying for her mom and dad and I don’t know the extent of their situation but I’m praying Faithbridge would touch their lives deeply. That the Love of Christ would reach this family.

I’m already learning so much. Even in regards to my own children. Like how to be more gentle with my words. Consistently. When you have a child who you look at as fragile you are so intentional with speaking to them gently. Sometimes we are so familiar with our own kids that we don’t consider our tone as being harmful. I just have noticed that with my emotionally healthy kids I tend to be a little more abrupt with them and don’t really think about how things come out. I’m seeing how effective gentle tones and words are and know that I must be more conscious with my own children and how I speak to them. (Proverbs 15:1)

I know it’s only the first full day with many more to come. Whether with this sweet girl or some one else. Taking each day as it comes and relying fully on Him. Thank you thank you thank you for the support and prayers! Sorry this post is a little all over the place. Just a depiction of our state of life right now πŸ˜‰

To God be all the glory forever and ever!

Overwhelmed by His love,
Katie

One thought on “First timers

  1. πŸ’›πŸ’™πŸ’œWelcome to part 1 of The Great Adventure aka Going With God! So proud of you! Remember… Cast your cares, trust in Him, don’t lean on your own understanding…He will direct your steps!

Leave a Reply

