3, no 5, no 7….. s.e.v.e.n.

Who started the trend of putting periods in between letters of words to emphasize the word?

I love it!

Jason has a really sweet girl that works for him. She was the 2nd gal he ever hired. She is a very hard worker. Which anyone who owns a business knows how difficult it can be to find solid, good, honest, hard working employees. We love her. She happens to be a single mom and is doing all she can to love and support her family. I really admire her.

Usually her sister helps watch her boys after school or during the summer. Her sister though just had a baby. Due to complications they had to take the baby 5 weeks early. Not only was this a frightening situation for her sister and the baby but obviously our gal was worried about her kiddos and their care while she works to provide. When something like this happens I am compelled to help. Seriously, God has blessed me beyond measure, often through OTHER PEOPLE. My desire to do things for others legitimately comes from my love for Christ, because he has so lavishly loved me.

But I lavish unfailing love for a thousand generations on those who love me and obey my commands. (Exodus 20:6 NLT)

Yes he does!

It’s like you want others to experience that.

So I told her not to worry, we would help as long as she needed. We knew Gods hand was in this. Jason and I discussed how she only needs someone through June and we had told Faithbridge we’d be ready (assuming approval) to start accepting children in July.

Interesting? Coincidence?

Y’all that is God.

He was working on our hearts and schedule and creating availability for us to meet this need with obedience, willingness, and love.

From 3 kiddos to 5.

Well then I start thinking. Her sister has 2 other boys. And obviously her husband needs to be with her and the baby while they are in the hospital. Who is watching their boys? So I asked…..

And 5 becomes 7.

S.E.V.E.N.

I mean I used to say I wanted 7 children, here’s my chance. 🙂 But 7 would definitely require a plan. An itinerary. So I ran to the dollar general, loaded up on bubbles, chalk, water balloons, puzzles, ect. On my drive I prayed, “Lord, being available and willing is half the battle. (Actually….less than half!) I need power from your Spirit to enable me not just to babysit, (babysit ie: ensure everyone’s survival.) but God I want to care for these kids with love that points towards You! Make me slow to anger and abounding in love as You are. Help me to invest in these kids while I have them with all the grace and love that comes from You.” Then, I whipped up several PB&J’s just to have on hand. And I also wrote up a schedule.

“A failure to plan is a plan to fail.”

20130602-215907.jpg

It is 10pm Sunday night. I will write this is segments. 🙂

1:51pm Monday. This is no joke the first time I have sat down. Not sure how long it will last. Our day has gone something like this.

8:00 the kids arrive. We finished up breakfast and I set them up with UNO and coloring books till it was time for Caleb to take his morning nap at 10. At that point I had “scheduled” our water balloon and sprinkler time. It was key to play games with the water balloons. Allowing a free-for-all makes the effort of getting the balloons and filling them up pretty much pointless. Google “water balloon games”and it will ensure your time and dollar goes further.

We did a water balloon toss, “hot potato”, a musical chairs spin on water balloons, and my personal favorite, the balloon hunt where I hid several balloons and whatever they found they then could bomb each other with. Here’s a glimpse into the situation. Obviously there is not much time to capture photos. Get the evidence and go. 😉

20130603-140118.jpg
We took a break at 11 and had lunch. Making all the sandwiches the night before was key! After lunch we played a few more games and then I let them loose to have their balloon fight. Within 27 seconds they were all exploded.

6:50pm (finally sitting again, the boys went home at 4:00 but of course immediate damage control was necessary for this girl. I just like order. I also like dinner, as does the rest of my family haha!)

The rest of our day consisted of indoor activities.

Then to wrap up the last hour the kids had a water gun fight and filled the few remaining balloons we had. Which I thought “Wow, would have made them occupy some of the time filling balloons had I known they were so good at it.”
😉

All in all the day went quite smoothly. Spent a lot of time trying to explain why rules and boundaries are so important for safe fun. I could probably write numerous blogs addressing many different aspects and issues we ran across through out the day but ultimately here is what I really want my focus to be:

Being available to be a servant.
(Which mind you, some people are actually gifted in serving. Like its their spiritual gift. Well, it’s not mine)

I ran across this quote and liked this take on serving.

When Jesus came in the form of a servant, He was not disguising who God is. He was revealing who God is. Jesus calls us to servanthood not because other people need our service, it is because of what happens to us when we serve.

John Ortberg

Oh I pray that my availability and obedience to what God brings in my life would not only bless others and draw them closer to Christ but that it would change me. Every day I pray I would look a little more like Jesus. I know I am not perfect and inevitably I’ll make mistakes, but I get really excited thinking about being more like Jesus.

This song just came to mind.
Chris Tomlins version Take My Life

Take my will and make it Thine, it shall be no longer mine
Take my heart, it is Thine own, it shall be Thy royal throne
Take my love, my Lord I pour at Your feet, it’s treasure store
Take myself and I will be ever, only, all for Thee

One thought on “3, no 5, no 7….. s.e.v.e.n.

  1. Wow, nothing like kids to round off those rough edges!😇 You go, Kate! You need to list the ages to give us a full appreciation of what Jesus is doing in your life!
    We will be waiting for that end of the week report! 😤😬😏
    Love you!

Leave a Reply

