Faithbridge: Home Visit #1

Hey sweet family and friends! I wanted y’all to be in the loop (and praying!) we finally got all our paper work in and have our first home visit this Saturday!! Yikes! I am a bucket full of emotions, excited and a little nervous mostly. I know that this is completely in God’s hands but the human part of me wants to control any aspect I can. (Like, I don’t know, making sure my house just exudes o.r.d.e.r.) I am trying to resist the temptation to manipulate this situation to go any other way than God’s way. My mothers comforting words “If your house is too neat Katie they’ll definitely think something is wrong!” šŸ™‚ Thanks mom! (Those were the more humorous words of wisdom she passed on.) And of course the home visit goes well beyond an orderly house. Oh how did my amazing correspondent put it….. “Happy interrogation!” šŸ˜‰ You get the idea.

Meanwhile this morning in my quiet this verse came into my prayers, not limited to foster care but it did remind me of why we are pursuing it and also instilled, again, confidence that God is with us no matter what.

His glorious power will make you patient and strong enough to endure anything, and you will be truly happy. I pray that you will be grateful to God for letting you have part in what he has promised his people in the kingdom of light. (Colossians 1:11, 12 CEVUK)

I keep being reminded of the privilege it is to partner with God in advancing His glorious Kingdom. I want to be willing and grateful for every opportunity he gives me to take part in the more that He offers. It is so much more than anything self gratification brings. I saw this really awesome quote as well by the brilliant Albert Einstein “Only a life lived for others is a life worth while.” And let me take that a step further and emphasize that I only want to live for others when I’m living for and loving Jesus. Apart from Him I live for myself, and it ain’t pretty!

Y’all, I have to tell you I have so many posts working in my head. God is just teaching these Grahams so many things. He’s always showing up in our day to day and much of it I want to share here but my goodness, I can’t keep up with all the Spirit is impressing on me. I hope one day soon I’ll get to just sit and write. I just love writing and I would enjoy sharing more on how mighty our God is. But until then, we covet your prayers Saturday morning right around 9:30am šŸ˜‰

Thanks and lots of love!

3 thoughts on “Faithbridge: Home Visit #1

  1. First of all, we are praying everything goes smoothly and look forward to hearing updates!

    Second of all, my goodness me checking your blog tonight was totally a God thing! I’m in tears! We literally just finished going through our packet from the agency we are going through to get licensed and after looking over all the required classes, all the things that have to be done at our expense (fire inspection, health inspection, fingerprinting, CPR training, etc.) I was just feeling so overwhelmed! I closed the packet, got online to stop thinking about it and BAM I find this post! The Lord is so faithful, isn’t he?! I love it! Thank you for the reminder that God will make us patient and strong to endure anything. I needed that!

  2. Jesika! That is so God! And I love it when he does that. I’m so glad to hear y’all are back in action with pursuing foster parenting. It can be overwhelming but just take it one task at a time šŸ™‚ it will all get done exactly when he intends it to. Praying for you guys and so so appreciate your prayers!

Leave a Reply

