Caleb 10 months, 2 weeks, and 4 days

20130524-180817.jpg

Who ever said recounting mile stones and memories had to be on an “even” day? πŸ˜‰

As I stood at the sink and looked over at Caleb in his high-chair eating/playing with his banana I thought to myself “I just don’t want to forget this moment.” It’s simple. He obviously had enough to eat; some yogurt, 2 hard boiled eggs, half an english muffin, and now almost half a banana. The boy can put it away. So, he just sat there, squeezing his “spear” cut banana so it would shoot out the top of his fist,…… and he laughs. He proceeds to try and pick up the slippery spear again, which is now turning into something like banana pudding and he just laughs and laughs. Does it get any sweeter than that? Not only is it amusing for me as a mother to watch his fine motor skills develop but also his humor and approach towards playfulness. I love this little guy. And I find it so important now to document these little moments. For one I don’t want to forget this time that FLIES by faster than words can really describe. My other reason being because well there are other moments when I may not like his behavior all that much. Moments that aren’t so amusing. So these sweet times are good to have etched on your heart and mind when you might be inclined to run away.

I mean for real, we always love our children, we will do whats best for them and if ever necessary sacrifice everything for their well being, BUT we don’t always like their behavior. They are still humans and all. For example: I don’t particularly like it when Caleb cries, screams even, most every time I lay him down for bed or 80% of the time I set him down on the floor. Seriously. Full.blown.meltdown. Not just for girls. I have no idea what developed that within his personality but truly, his initial response the majority of the time he’s set down by me is to wail. Okay, I admit sometimes it is slightly amusing. He can be so dramatic about it you know. Picture this: I set him down, obviously in a sitting position. He then throws his head back, (I suppose to get the most amount of oxygen to his lungs) and let’s out a loud cry just before he folds himself in half with his arms straight out above him and his forehead touching the floor. (Should I get a picture?) It’s so ridiculous it can be funny at points. Once I walk away he’s fine. But really? Has my response ever changed to this reaction Caleb? No.

He is a funny little man though. Tonight, after one of those emotional mother-hood days (you know the kind, common yet a bit draining) I watched the kids play. Micaila and Ryann doing laps around the kitchen, Caleb crawling and trying so hard to keep up, and again giggling his little head off. Every time the girls would approach him they’d say “boo!” and he would just laugh that adorable baby laugh, the kind that after a few chuckles he’s trying to catch his breath again “huhuhuhuuuuuuh”. πŸ™‚

We are fast FAST FAST approaching 1 year(s) <~~ I always add the s and Jason always corrects me! I don’t know why I do it! Here is what Caleb has been up to in the last few months. πŸ™‚

In February you became mommies first baby she has ever cloth diapered. Daddy did not think I could do it but 3 months later and we are doing pretty well!

On March 27 you officially crawled.

April 16 you waved “bye bye” and it was the cutest! The pediatrician is very impressed with your hand coordination. πŸ˜‰

I lost track of exactly when all your current teeth came in because you have 5 now and they just came so fast!

At 9 months you started weaning from nursing and moving towards solid foods and formula. You eat like a champ! Whatever we’re eating you want and you like. Basically, you’ll eat anything and it’s fantastic!

The beginning of May you pulled yourself up for the first time, on NeeNa’s dishwasher. Now you have successfully pulled up on chairs, the couch, and your crib rail. I can tell you are figuring out how to walk your feet as you hang on to the couch. Summer by the pool should be AwEsOmE πŸ˜‰

You also have made it up 2 steps of our stairs, yikes!

You now enjoy drinking out of a straw, that’s fun to watch! You still seem surprised by the cold beverage that comes up it!

Best of all you FINALLY are saying “momma”!! It started mid cry, you would be all “mmmmmm mum mum mum mumm aaaa”. So I jumped on that and you have perfected it now and don’t always only say it when you’re boo hooing. Hey I will take what I can get.

Honestly though all these mile stones may be the beginning of watchful eyes but I am so grateful you are a healthy, happy, developing baby boy. And quite handsome too. πŸ™‚

Thankful to the One everything comes from, every single day.

 20130524-180249.jpg20130524-180310.jpg20130524-180330.jpg20130524-180346.jpg20130524-180431.jpg

One thought on “Caleb 10 months, 2 weeks, and 4 days

Leave a Reply

