Encourage the Spirit

I love writing and I also love reading. I particularly enjoy reading other blogs of fellow Christians. This is just about the only “social media” I do. Does blogging even count for that? I recently told a friend of mine this: “If I’m going to spend time ‘following’ something it’s got to point me to Him.” My point was that, essentially, I’m such a mess that I can’t afford to spend any time following someone or something that doesn’t point me directly to Christ. Really, I just am a yucky person if I focus on anything other than my King. Simply being alive in this world provides plenty of other avenues to focus on the wrong things, the selfish things, the SELF, MYSELF, me, me, me. See how that happened? So I need to protect my mind from certain stuff and essentially be feeding my Spirit as often as I can.

Which brings me to my point. I like to read πŸ™‚

I follow a few blogs which I get by email. And my dad, mom, and friends forward me things that peak their interests and we bounce off commentary which is fun. I am not suggesting you rely on a blog for your source of Spiritual nourishment. We all most definitely need to spend as much time in the Word of God. I just really enjoy reading other Christian’s application and taking their scripture references to my own study time in God’s Word. It’s also a blessing to be exposed to other people’s life experiences and see the work God is doing on their heart. I’m always very encouraged.

I’m getting off topic here. Did I mention I read?

I have been receiving an abundance of good reads. Some from women I am honored to know on a personal level and some I pretend in my mind that we are best friends,……or sisters, maybe an “Aunt” type figure. :-/ oh and a few pretty cool guys here and there too! But being a woman, the women usually post on topics that are super relate-able to me. So, I share with you some of the awesome posts I’ve read recently. I encourage you to read them, maybe even browse the blogs and have your Bible in hand. πŸ˜‰ take their references a step further and read it for yourself out of the living Word. I pray God will bless you and take you into a deeper, fuller knowledge of Who He is.

This is my very sweet friend Alison. I wrote in this post about her mother Sharon passing away. I am so thankful for Alison’s writing and her allowing the Holy Spirit to lead her in what she posts.

I Stand Continually Amazed

This is my blog world friend Jesika. She actually found me first but we have emailed and are not only blog friends but sisters in Christ. I admire her so much and all she is in Christ.

Knowing Jesus

Y’all know I really admire Beth Moore. I have been blessed this year in particular by her “Siesta Scripture Memory”. Check out this post, written by a young lady from Beth’s LPM team and I bet you’ll be drawn into the awesomeness of this ministry.

Rejected by strangers

Recently my mom has shared Rick Warrens Daily Hope, which I really like. Once again a great devotion that is very impacting.

Daily Hope

Last but not least David Platt and Francis Chan are just spot on. Here’s a taste from Verge. If ever this phrase applied it’s now. Completely.Awesome. Yep that’s our God!

Verge Network

 

4 thoughts on “Encourage the Spirit

  1. I’m so thankful that the Lord has been able to use my blog to bless you! Know that your blogposts are a blessing to me as well.

    Also-I’m right there with you on Platt & Chan. I’m in the process of reading “Follow Me” by David Platt and at his been both convicting and challenging. I highly recommend it!

    Now I’m off to check out these other links πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you, Kate and thank you theknightfive, good blog post. Very loving admonition.
    Dad is reading follow me, now. I’m sure he’d be happy to pass it on.
    In all of this good stuff, it is helpful to keep central, 1Corinthans 13:3, everything must find its root in love. Jn 3:16- God so loved the world…jn 13:1- having loved his own who were in the world, he loved them to the end.
    We tend to want to formalize life…marriage…parenting and our ears with God. I.E., if we do this, this will be the result. We will be “followers” of Christ. Love is mysterious, dynamic, ever changing in form and function. Yet, constant, reliable, faithful and unmovable. God is love. 1 Jn. 4:16 …Those who live in God’s love live in God, and God lives in them.
    My point being….no action, ministry, or sacrifice can supersede our motive- LOVE. God’s love poured out on us to be spilled over to a loveless world.
    So as we pursue being “radical…followers…” Let’s make sure love of God & love for others is our “agenda”.

    • Precisely. And I am much more loving when I’m submitted to the Spirit and saturated by Truth which exemplifies His love. Excellent observations and points mommy πŸ™‚ if our motive is love, love in its purist form, the end result should be pretty, well, loving πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

