He calls them Home

20130501-114920.jpg

My mom posted this picture on her Facebook last night from Live58.

To describe this week I can only say that it’s been bittersweet. On the heals of losing one of our dear sweet sisters in Christ, Sharon Coad, this morning my mothers brother, Uncle Tommy, passed away after battling cancer for some time. As I quoted my dad in my previous blog, Love and Loss, the pain and grief runs deep because the love is deep. The sweet part of it all though is the confidence we have that these two individuals are in the presence of God right now. I can not imagine losing someone and questioning wether they had relationship with Christ or not. Friends, the urgency we should be feeling to ensure that those who come into our life be exposed to the Love of Christ and surrender their lives to him who created them, it should be overwhelming and great.

Fortunately Sharon Coad and Uncle Tommy had people in their life that loved the Lord so much and loved them enough to impress upon their hearts all we can experience through right relationship with Christ.

My mom is the 10th child of 11. And my uncle Tommy was the 6th. Because of the gap between them by the time every one was grown and had children I was very young and my cousins much older so I didn’t grow up particularly close to my Uncle Tommy and his family. With that said though they were still family. And any time we all had the wonderful opportunity to be together he and my Aunt Sharon were warm and loving no matter how much time had passed. They have 4 children, 2 boys and 2 daughters who are as sweet as they are beautiful. When it comes to family, especially our family, you don’t have to necessarily spend time with them to know them. My mom and dad and other aunts and uncles I do see frequently keep us filled in on the details and stories of all their siblings. Oh and there are some wild tales to be told. What I know of my Uncle Tommy though is he had such a gentle, kind Spirit. You could figure that out just from an introduction. Characteristics that stick out to me are faithfulness and loyalty. He loved his family and he loved his Lord. Even in the midst of battling cancer his faith remained strong and true. He knew exactly where his citizenship was. I know my Uncle touched lives around him and all who had the privilege of knowing him will certainly hold his memory close. We are proud of his life and proud that even in dealing with the painful effects of cancer Uncle Tommy finished well, giving glory to God all the way.

My precious family, I am lifting you all up during this time of mourning.

He is the God of comfort! And for all who I know are longing for his comfort right now I pray these verses over you.

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted. (Matthew 5:4 ESV)

You will increase my honor and comfort me once more. (Psalm 71:21 NIV)

This is my comfort in my affliction, that your promise gives me life. (Psalms 119:50 NKJV)

God, you are my comfort when I am very sad and when I am afraid. (Jeremiah 8:18 NCV)

You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you. (Isaiah 26:3 NIV)

The Lord is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation. (Psalms 118:14 ESV)

Yesterday Ryann and I were driving and she was singing this song in the backseat. I hope you are blessed by the powerful lyrics.

Chris Tomlin- Whom Shall I Fear

This song gets me every time because my exposure to it is from a beautiful young woman at our church in GA that sings it with strength and complete belief in the lyrics after losing her husband suddenly back in November.

Fellowship Church-The Everlasting

With His unfailing love,
Katie

Leave a Reply

