My favorite number 7

Doesn’t everyone have a favorite number? Seven for whatever reason is always my “go to” number if I need one. Just a little fun fact for ya!

Jason and I have been married 7 years now, as of April 1st, no joke! πŸ˜‰ You know what I love about marriage? It always surprises you. Whether with good things or things that you didn’t quite expect, it’s hard for marriage to become dull.

After being married 7 years (almost have been together 11) some might expect to have it figured out. That by now, we would know each other inside and out, be on point with each others thoughts, needs, wants, and know JUST what to do to fulfill them. Well, that certainly is not the case for us but I don’t know, that sounds kind of boring to me. I mean think about it… If you always knew the answer, knew what to say to get the perfect response, basically if you came to the point where you “arrived”. Then we wouldn’t need to grow anymore or learn new things or depend on God and experience the joy of overcoming some of those humps. (or for some mountains!) It’s always so fulfilling to look back on our marriage and think “Man that time was tough but look how faithful God is and how he redeemed it to honor him.” I mean don’t get me wrong, trials and adversity can down right STINK and I am probably the last person to have a jolly attitude in the midst of it BUT eventually I open my eyes to see God at work and it all makes sense and becomes worth while.

So after 7 years of marriage what is God speaking in my heart right now? Back to the basics. This child (bless my heart) can always use a lesson in basics.

Our life is supposed to be about honoring God. Marriage included.

So God created humans to be like himself; he made men and women. (Genesis 1:27 CEV)

Therefore a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and they shall become one flesh. (Genesis 2:24 NKJV)

To me that would suggest that a man and woman together in marriage is the image of God. And I don’t know about you but that really excites me! To think that the best way I can reflect God and all his glory is by partnering with the love of my life. Yeah, sign me up! I mean there isn’t another person on earth I would rather be joined with in this faith journey than Jason. πŸ™‚

This is definitely not news to me and probably not to any of you either. “Men are from Mars and Women are from Venus”. There are qualities men possess that women can’t understand and vice versa. Lately I have been thinking about how God placed the role of leadership within the family on the man yet most of the time it is the woman who’s spiritually sensitive. This obviously was designed so that we would work together. If God had not designed it that way and did not require me to follow my husbands leadership then more than likely I’d take the reigns and do my own thing. (and then fail miserably!) But that isn’t how God intended it to be. We cant function properly or reach our fullest potential trying to change Gods design to what we think works. He’s the Creator, he knows what he’s doing. πŸ™‚ Y’all probably have picked up on how much I enjoy The Message. Here is how it translates Ephesians 5:22-24:

“Wives, understand and support your husbands in ways that show your support for Christ. The husband provides leadership to his wife the way Christ does to his church, not by domineering but by cherishing. So just as the church submits to Christ as he exercises such leadership, wives should likewise submit to their husbands. Husbands, go all out in your love for your wives, exactly as Christ did for the churchβ€”a love marked by giving, not getting.”

I love that it first uses the words “understand and support” because that it what godly submission should look like. And then in reference to the husband, that their leadership should not look “domineering” but that of cherishing. Who doesn’t want to be cherished?

Some women may cringe at the word submission. In all honesty our responsibility to submit doesn’t seem as intense as what is on our husbands in terms of leading. They bare a heavy load and will be held accountable in the end. I really want to be a wife that supports my husband and submits to him as he tries to lead our family under God’s authority. I would hate to think that I might be making his job as head of the house more difficult by not trying my best to understand and support. And in reading that Ephesians passage it seems Paul would be suggesting that if a wife is submitting to her husband as she does to Christ that it would encourage the husband to lead in a way where the wife feels cherished. I have experienced the result of godly submission and I keep praying that God would equip me with all I need, particularly a more humble Spirit, to be consistent in my submission. I also have been praying for Jason to feel supported and confident in his leading and that I would know what the best way to encourage him is. I don’t know it all but I do know how to go to the basics. Read my Bible and pray.

Ultimately that’s my little nugget for you after 7 blissful πŸ˜‰ years of marriage.

Pray- it’s powerful and effective!
Bible- read it! Pray before you do and ask the Holy Spirit to open your eyes to the Truth in his Word, not a misinterpretation to provoke the “feel good feelings”.

To end this blog I have thought of 7 things I love about Jason.

1.) Lets get the obvious out of the way, your looks are undeniably striking. To put it plainly, you’re hot.

2.) You’re frugal. This is actually a love hate relationship. I want to love it. I’m learning to love it. πŸ™‚

3.) You’re clean. As in you don’t do a messy cluttered house and I like that.

4.) You’re fun. You make me more fun.

5.) You dream big which helps the realist in me have a few dreams of my own. πŸ™‚

6.) You play well with the kids. Oh how thankful I am for this!

7.) You’re an “investor”. In all you do you consider the long term. Such a great quality.

Happy Anniversary babe! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

