Good Friday

Yet God, with undeserved kindness, declares that we are righteous. He did this through Christ Jesus when he freed us from the penalty for our sins. (Romans 3:24 NLT)

Jesus Paid it ALL

I hear the Savior say,
Thy strength indeed is small!
Child of weakness, watch and pray,
Find in Me thine all in all

Jesus paid it all
All to Him I owe
Sin had left a crimson stain
He washed it white as snow

Lord, now indeed I find
Thy power, and Thine alone,
Can change the leper’s spots
And melt the heart of stone

For nothing good have I
Where-by Thy grace to claim
I’ll wash my garments white
In the blood of Calvary’s Lamb

And when before the throne
I stand in Him complete
Jesus died my soul to save
My lips shall still repeat

I love that old hymn. I know it would be completely normal to just glance over those lyrics out of it being familiar. But I encourage you to read it. Take it in. It’s a powerful, wonderful song.

I am STILL trying to comprehend the sacrifice He made for us. I certainly do not deserve it. And yet here it is, freely given. He gave love in the most sacrificial and selfless way. He defines love in a way that I can not wrap my head around.

He is true love.

“How He loves us, oh how He loves us….”

I don’t have it all together, I don’t know the Bible like the back of my hand, I am still learning and still having “aha!” moments in my walk with Christ. But one thing I know for sure is He loves us. A love like no other. There is nothing, absolutely nothing, that compares to His love. So I ask myself how can I not love in return, when someone gives love in this way? Why wouldn’t I respond to this depth of love? There are times when satan will attempt to put doubt in our mind about our faith. But this Love, it trumps all that doubt. It says “I love you this much….” and it compels me to seek Him, find Him, know Him and love Him. And I recognize it won’t be done perfectly but “O how marvelous! O how wonderful! And my song shall ever be:
O how marvelous! O how wonderful!
Is my Savior’s love for me!”

So that’s all I got. I would love to have something compelling and thought provoking but I am just at a loss for my own words. I have found myself singing a lot today. 🙂

He. Loves. Us.

One thought on “Good Friday

  1. I agree, Kate. Such a wonderful hymn full of grace & truth. And there really is not much to add to He loves us, so we should likewise love one another!!

Leave a Reply

