Christian Community

I am so excited! God has been orchestrating some really awesome things in our life that I’ve been wanting to share but just have had a hard time working it all into a post. I have felt as if He is opening our eyes to so much and I have wanted to write but when I’d sit down to do it, nothing was congealing! And it had occurred to me, “ya know Katie, sometimes the things God reveals to you isn’t for everyone else.” Because certainly there will be things that he shows us that are specific to our unique situation. God is awesome like that!

With that said I think the Holy Spirit has made it clear what He wants me to write about.

God recently answered a specific prayer I have been praying since we moved here. I have been praying that Jason and I would find community with other Christians. Not that we would find other Christians to “hang out with” but people we would go deeper in our Faith with than we ever have before. That we would develop friendship with other followers of Christ who will hold us accountable to grow and challenge us to be all we can be in Christ.

The human body has many parts, but the many parts make up one whole body. So it is with the body of Christ. This makes for harmony among the members, so that all the members care for each other. All of you together are Christ’s body, and each of you is a part of it. (1 Corinthians 12:12, 25, 27 NLT)

As iron sharpens iron, so people can improve each other. (Proverbs 27:17 NCV)

It turns out that this type of community we had been praying for was right under our noses. See Westridge post to hear how God brought us to our new church family.

We have started diving in at Westridge. And praise God we are beginning to establish community and fellowship with some members there. I recently started attending a women’s prayer group and what a blessing it has been. There is so much life within this group as we all come from different walks and seasons and generations. I love learning from these ladies and being encouraged by them and their lives that they so openly and honestly share. Yesterday morning though I was reminded that it’s not enough to be attending church and bible studies and prayer groups if you still are not living as an effective Christian. The verse in 2 Timothy came to my mind:

These women are always learning new teachings, but they are never able to understand the truth fully. (2 Timothy 3:7 NCV)

If you haven’t, (ever or in a while) I encourage you to read that entire chapter.

I don’t want to be one of those women, “always learning but never understanding fully….” As long as I’m here on earth I will be in a state of continual learning but I want that learning to result in actions that glorify Him.

We also have been invited to meet with current friends in a “small group” setting. The individuals who formed this meeting, prayerfully considered each couple, and within this group I think God is very much at work on each of our hearts in new and different ways. Right now we are meeting monthly which initially I thought “I need more time together than that.” But we do see each other pretty frequently and I’m so grateful for that kind of time when we gather. Since we already had friendship in place this new focus is bringing us together on a deeper level. Exactly what we needed! I love how God works and truly does give according to our needs.

 And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:19)

God is so faithful and gracious to begin this formation of intimate Christian community on the forefront of our foster care journey. I’m so thankful and can see how he is at work building us a solid support system. He’s equipping us with what we need to be effectively advancing His Kingdom. That is something to praise Him for!

Leave a Reply

