Workin this out

20130305-202933.jpg

I really like Francis Chan.

This quote just hits me hard because I know it to be SO true. Every day and night when I wake up and when I lie down I think about “what can/did I do today for you Lord?” And so often I find myself feeling as if I fell short. That I failed to love and/or allowed the world to suck me back in, consuming my thoughts with “me, me, me…” It’s so seductive you know, seductive and subtle are the worlds ways. It’s why we are told to “be on guard..” 1 Corinthians 16:13

There is a lot going on in our lives. I mean, isn’t there? That’s the norm right? Kind of what you’re supposed to say. To be honest it seems like satan has done quite the grand job of either making us think we are busy or actually convincing us we NEED the things we are busy with. And yet I absolutely do not want to become too busy for my Savior. Too busy for time with Him or too busy to extend His love to those in need. Those really in need. The ones who are innocent and genuinely helpless.

When I spotted that quote I did not plan to use it as a segue into what I’m about to share. I mean it’s really no secret but I just wanted to wait a little longer, wait till we were further in the process before making our big blog announcement.

I’ve shared in the past our desire to adopt. Before I became pregnant with Caleb we started looking into different avenues of adoption. We went to a meeting at Bethany Christian Services in regards to Foster Care and I left in tears, completely horrified and wondering who would actually commit to that after hearing what the agent had presented. I realize now that because the system is so corrupt they (must) want to ensure that only people who are genuinely concerned for the children’s welfare are going to “sign up”. We are genuinely concerned for these kids. And ultimately I look back on that time in our life and recognize a few things. 1.) God is in control and obviously knew something we didn’t. 2.) One of the something’s he knew about was Caleb. Our sweet little guy, that, had we pursued adoption or foster care we may not have him. God is good, and He is sovereign. Praise Him!

Through circumstances that were so clearly orchestrated by Him, that I’d love to share in the future, we were led to Faithbridge Foster Care. We believe so strongly in this ministry and that it is designed to accomplish the call to care for orphans exactly how God says to. When we attended this orientation we left excited, peaceful, and confident. Both of us. So we committed to the 20 hours of pre service training which we just completed this weekend. Boy was that intense! But still, the one blessed reminder that faithbridge kept instilling in our hearts “You will not do this alone.” Which is kind of important as we don’t really have the support system that we would have back in Florida. (Ie: Two sets of parents, an entire church congregation because hey, I’m the pastors daughter, I’ve got connections 😉 , a big womens ministry, and the rest of the gang down there…. thats a lot of support!) Now that we have completed training we will begin the application process and home study. Sounds simple enough right? I actually was taking a break from the 57 page application, which led me to writing this. There will be finger printing, physicals, tests and more tests. But we are hoping in the end to become approved and certified foster parents.

I tell you this because we will most definitely need your prayer. The ONLY reason we are pursuing this is because the Holy Spirit has laid it on our hearts and the only way we will be successful is through the mighty power of God at work within us. Please pray! And pray for the foster children. I was reminded again but on a different level of how broken this world is and how these children and their parents need Jesus to heal and be restored. That is the goal of Faithbridge. To restore! 🙂 And we all know that’s the business God is in, after all it’s why he sacrificed his Son. To restore us to him!

Of course I’ll blog more on the process, however, I will go ahead and inform you that if we are approved and we do become care givers I obviously won’t be blogging specifically about any of the children. We have to protect their privacy so you won’t see pictures and I can not relinquish any personal information about them at all. So like, don’t ask! 😉 just figured it was best to get that out of the way.

The other thing that struck me tonight……

Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.
James 1:22 NIV

This verse is serious and I take it seriously. I know that if I try in my own capacity I can’t accomplish much of anything. We are told we can “do all things through Christ who strengthens us.” And I am so praying He would strengthen me and equip me to live out His love.

For from him and through him and for him are all things. To him be the glory forever! Amen. Romans 11:36

Leave a Reply

