Oh sweet Valentine :-/

Come on now, you didn’t actually believe I wouldn’t post a Valentines day blog did you? 😉

Having lived away, over 2 years now, from the glorious, wonderful days of grandparents at our finger tips we are learning to improvise when it comes to occasions such as Valentines Day. And even with our stellar attempts at orchestrating a “perfect” evening, with 5 family members involved there is bound to be a few hiccups.

Is it just me though? Because I am telling you, on any occasion that would be exclusively celebrated between Jason and me, satan is right there ready and waiting the minute we wake up to “seek, kill, and destroy.” True story! On this particular morning, (after many mornings actually), I had not slept well. And, I kid you not, I’ve been gently expressing to Jason “We really should consider investing in a new mattress.” for like 2 years now. (You know you’re getting old when you start talking mattresses instead of a vaca!!) Anyways, anyone who knows Jason or has kept up with this blog has to be fully aware that the man I married, God bless him, (seriously! It’s not a bad thing!)  he’s quite the frugal provider. So obviously my unfortunate mood over wanting a decent mattress was clearly not what he was looking for on Valentines morning. Sorry babe. I will say, even in the midst of my being grouchy (and achy) he still loved on me with kisses and hugs goodbye, which I mean,….. I wouldn’t have done that to me.

Knowing that satan was after me, my Beloved, and our romantic Valentines evening I sought God in my quiet time and laid it all down. Even my mattress! Seriously, I know this sounds stupid, but this is real life stuff that people feud over for weeks! I’m not having that y’all! Through prayer and scripture I was gently reminded that THIS is not my home.

2 Corinthians 5:2, & 6-8

While we are here on earth, we sigh because we want to live in that heavenly home.

Therefore we are always confident and know that as long as we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord.For we live by faith, not by sight. We are confident, I say, and would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord.

I need to remember this. It helps me keep perspective. When I’m not “feeling” it, it’s ultimately because my Spirit has created in me a longing to be home, not here but my ETERNAL home, with God, my magnificent Creator.

But WHILE I’m here I want to make every effort to love those around me. (So hard sometimes.) I wanted Jason to feel loved when he got home regardless if the evening was a perfect Valentines Day sort of evening. So I needed an attitude change. I straightened myself up and re focused on Him. “Set your minds on things above, not earthly things.” Colossians 3:2

The day was beautiful. And before Jason came home from work we spent some time outside riding bikes. The girls were sporting their new heart necklaces, that their daddy bought them and presented to them on there daddy daughter date the night before. And as a side note, can I just say that I am so proud of this man. I was so impressed with Jason’s own initiative to love on his girls. When they came home beaming over those sweet necklaces I just had so much pride well up within me because he did that with out any one suggesting it. That is where it’s at. I would sacrifice every valentine gift in the world for a daddy that wants to invest in his daughters.

IMG_7684

Psalm 100:5

For the Lord is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.

P2149920P2149929

It was so beautiful and BRIGHT out I had to have them looking down.
So, on to our Valentines. We have adopted the Graham (Scott and Nicole) tradition of staying in and eating a staple meal every year. Our first Valentines day date, (what seems like a life time ago,…. okay 10 years) I cooked Jason chicken parmigiana on my parents back porch. So that’s what we have and it’s funny because this is the ONLY time I ever cook this meal. But it’s sweet because it floods back memories of that night…. candle light dinner, frogs croaking in the back ground, (because my parents lived in front of a swamp) I even remember what I wore, (in fact I still HAVE it) and Jason bought me the oh so popular Tiffanys necklace. I will never forget this night. 🙂
But OBVIOUSLY, now, we have to do some planning for the children, I mean, they are still here. Oh, but we did have offers for babysitting! (Thank you offerers!) Honestly though, we’d rather have this tradition on THIS night and go out on a random night. Okay so, the kiddos….. they get to have the same special dinner, but a picnic, in mommy and daddy’s room, with a new movie!
P2149956P2149946P2149958
Aren’t their One Direction cups awesome! Jason bought those lol!
Valentines Day is actually quite fun with kids. And in our home schooling we’ve been reading 1 Corinthians 13 and learning what love is. A FABULOUS reminder for ME 🙂
So while they were upstairs we stayed downstairs and enjoyed this……
P2149967
P2149936
But as I said, with 5 members somebody’s going to be a wild card. Fortunately isn’t wasn’t me or Jason! Because trust me, I’ve been in that situation when we’ve had all the solitude in the world and it didn’t do us a bit of good because we were fighting. We did get to eat before we had any major interruptions and eventually we decided we’d go watch Ice Age with the kids because come on, who doesn’t love those movies?
Not quite the romantic lovey Vday but as Jason so often points out “It shouldn’t be just one great big effort to love our spouse once a year, we should be doing things daily.” Truly I married a very smart man who is growing in Christ more everyday.  And I love him and all our little mini’s too!
So, here’s to allowing our family a little more grace on Valentines Day. It makes for a lot less stress! 😉
One thought on “Oh sweet Valentine :-/

  1. Such a real… Life…and real….Love…. Valentines Day!
    Seriously….
    what do flowers and candy really have to do with TRUE LOVE!

Leave a Reply

