So incredibly thankful

Boy howdy have I been a slacker with my blog. :-/ Truth is we have been pretty busy the last 2 weeks and I’m definitely not complaining. We recently were able to visit Florida and attend a wedding for one of Jason’s close friends. It was beautiful and a lot of fun. I really enjoyed getting to spend the time with my beautiful and ridiculously fun friend who also was at the wedding. It takes a lot for a gal 8 months pregnant to have a good time and Erica definitely made the evening a blast for me. 🙂

Congrats to Mike and his new beautiful wife Alisha. We will be praying for y’all as you embark on this wonderful and sometimes difficult, yet completely fulfilling journey of marriage. 🙂

That same weekend both my mothers and very sweet and also pregnant friend Kaitlyn threw me a baby shower. Considering that this IS my 3rd baby I really was not expecting to have another baby shower. But my mom insisted saying “But your having a boy this time!” She made a good point. 🙂 Thank you to EVERYONE that came and showered me and our little boy with your love and presents. I mostly enjoyed the fellowship with you all. What a good time we had laughing, sharing memories and creating new ones. I am so blessed, as are my children to have such wonderful and supportive friends and family.

My mom has all the pictures from my shower, need to get those 🙂 These were from my phone.

After that busy weekend we came home so we could re-pack and head to Gulf Shores. Ahhhhh….. the beach…. what I have REALLY been looking forward to. With the Graham family growing (who’s fault is THAT?) Jason’s dad has generously rented a house the last 2 years to accommodate us all. It’s important to him that we all be together and we are extremely grateful to him for providing us a place (that keeps getting bigger by the year) for us all to stay in. And not only did it accommodate all the Grahams but Randy invited my parents up as well and THIS girl could not have been happier. Almost all my family on one vacation, what a blessing.

The house was beautiful, no… extravagant! It was dreamy!!!! It was on a river, that led out to the gulf, it had a pool, and dock, it had 6 bathrooms! I mean what more could you ask for? We all had our own room, always a quiet place to retreat to with the balconies and various living rooms. I actually was able to have a QUIET time which is hard to snag in a beach house with 1200 square ft. and 8 people staying at. This time it was no problem and it was truly wonderful. Most of those times I spent just thanking God for all that he has blessed us with. There is something about my temperament that makes me an easy target for guilt. Satan is always trying to convince me that it’s not right to enjoy what God gives us because ultimately we don’t deserve it. Satan is good about slipping in bits of truth into his lies to make them so believable. I DON’T deserve any of what I have. But the real truth is that God loves me and that he delights in blessing His children. I’ve been reading the story of David and it’s been so good for me to read about his life and see how incredibly blessed by the Lord David was. What I’m realizing is that we ought to rejoice and thank God for all things and in all circumstances. He definitely does not desire us to sink into a pattern of feeling guilty over the good things he gives us. He wants us to enjoy them and give him glory. I was sitting on the balcony one morning, drinking my cafe con leche 😉 and looking out on the water. I had my journal and my phone open to my youversion app with Pandora playing. Tenth Avenue North’s song Times came on. It is probably one of my absolute favorite songs. The lyrics are so beautiful and so true to who God is and how much he loves us regardless of our brokenness. I could spend my life trying to figure out why my life is the way it is compared to someone else. But I think God just wants me to enjoy it, SHARE it, by sharing it I’ll be sharing HIM, be available and obedient to anything HE prompts me to do, and in all that give him glory every opportunity I get.

Not only was the house a treat but the weather could not have been more perfect. By the time Saturday rolled around (and boy did it come fast) I was not ready to part from my family, the beach, the house,….. it all was too good to be true. Fortunately Jason and I were able to stay a few more days at our beach house, so I was able to slowly ween myself off of this incredible vacation. 😉

There was a music festival going on at the “Hang Out” which is a place a block away from the house. Couple of big name bands were there Red Hot Chili Peppers and Dave Matthews…. It was a pretty big deal with an insanely large crowd. Those two days we spent people watching…. and I’m sure you can imagine the type of crowd this concert would draw. The vast majority of people are in mine and Jason’s age bracket. And the vast majority of people were extremely intoxicated. Though amusing to watch…. I couldn’t help but be thankful for the fact that, for whatever reason God spared my husband and I from pursuing that kind of lifestyle. (at least not for any length of time, we’ve certainly had our moments!) Some might look at us and think “I’m glad I’m not them!” Two kids and one on the way…. I suppose to some that isn’t very appealing. Jason and I were discussing though that we have absolutely no regrets and wouldn’t trade what we have for anything. The thing is there just isn’t anything more fulfilling than 1.) Relationship with Christ 2.) Relationship with your husband/wife 3.) Children and family. These things are lasting… not temporary. I feel like once you figure that out, you realize what a waste it can be to party your life away. Of course that’s just my opinion….. bottom line is I’m extremely thankful for where God has me.

I feel a great need to stress that our life is not perfect…. we have moments and experiences that may seem perfect to some. It’s easy to look at someones life at a glance and think “Their just perfect!” But WE are not. No one is. If you could see us beyond brief encounters and this blog you would be fully aware of how imperfect and broken we are. WE are blessed, no doubt about that. We are loved by an awesome, mighty, and sovereign God. Apart from him our life would have no purpose, no meaning, and no lasting fulfillment. Because we have relationship with him he is continually teaching us with easy and difficult lessons, bringing joy to our lives in various ways, and just showing us an abundance of love that we will never truly be able to understand till we meet him in Heaven.

I am just so incredibly thankful for my relationship with Jesus Christ. Because what I know for sure is that even with an abundance of material possessions, you can’t enjoy them if you don’t have Jesus.

“You can have all this world, Just give me Jesus” Jeremy Camp

One thought on “So incredibly thankful

  1. Oh Katie- it is all so true! Life apart from Jesus no matter how filled with pleasure and possessions, isn’t the life to the fullest that He promised. Thank you for expressing that so well in your blog. You are a treasure to me and your dad!

Leave a Reply

