A few quick thoughts :-)

A lot of times when I share things on my blog I have learned, I do so with the thought in mind of “I wish someone had shared this with me” or “I wish I had thought of this sooner!” haha.

I am on my 2nd attempt of reading through the bible in a year. This time I am using YouVersion and I really like it. I also chose the Chronological plan. However, doing this plan has had me in the Old Testament for the last 60 days. The old testament is wonderful and I do love learning and reading about the old law and all the things that ultimately are leading up to Jesus coming. But it is also more difficult for someone like myself to find the life application in the old testament. I often have to call my dad to get explanations and gain understanding for why things were done and what does this mean for me. With all that said, I tend to get a little bogged down and lose my “fire” I guess you could say. So I have found it EXTREMELY helpful to go into some of the New Testament books like Philippians, Ephesians, Galatians, (any of the smaller ones). These books make it SO easy to apply to my life. For example, it’s difficult for me to apply the sacrificing of animals to life TODAY but very easy for me to read Philippians 2:3 Nothing should be done because of pride or thinking about yourself. Think of other people as more important than yourself. (NLV) Pretty straight forward. Especially when you read it and then take it to bible gateway and read it in many other translations. I really enjoy doing that.

I just found myself reading through this year plan, but it didn’t look or feel like I was in my bible daily. Reading through the bible is a great goal to have but we don’t want to get lost in the task and neglect what his Word is really there for. To guide and teach us how we should strive to live.

So this morning I decided to take a little break from my “plan” and just enjoy reading through Philippians. I love Paul. He is just very blunt and like “Hey this is the Truth!” A verse hit me this morning that I had not been hit by before. (Ya know, it wasn’t highlighted yet 😉 ) He’s talking about his life and not having confidence in the flesh. And of course I took it to BG and translated it to New Living Translation. Check it out. 🙂

Philippians 3:7-11 I once thought these things were valuable, but now I consider them worthless because of what Christ has done. Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have discarded everything else, counting it all as garbage, so that I could gain Christ and become one with him. I no longer count on my own righteousness through obeying the law; rather, I become righteous through faith in Christ. For God’s way of making us right with himself depends on faith. I want to know Christ and experience the mighty power that raised him from the dead. I want to suffer with him, sharing in his death, so that one way or another I will experience the resurrection from the dead!

Amen! THAT is the attitude I want to have. The boldness I want to have! This is why I love reading what Paul writes because I can understand it and be like “YES! Lord make my heart sincere like that. Give me the confidence and authenticity that Paul exhibits.”

Anyway, the other thing I wanted to share with you issss if you’re a parent I have found a GREAT book that you could easily read every day. You know I am a BIG fan of Stormie Omartian’s Power of the Praying Wife. And I did read her Power of the Praying Parent as well. But I found a new prayer-book called Prayers that Prevail for Your Children, Richards and Hildebrand. (I actually “found” it in my book collection and I’m pretty sure Linda gave it to me quite awhile ago) I read a beautiful prayer this morning designated for an unborn child and it was backed with all kinds of scripture and I just really love how they formatted this book. I like to use these books as part of my quiet time. Sometimes I don’t always know what to pray and using books like these helps us to pray for our loved ones and do so specifically.

It is so important for us to stay in the Word and also remain in conversation with Christ, prayer. This is a beautiful relationship and he has so much to show us and give to us all we have to do is seek him out and he will be faithful.

Philippians 1:9-11 I pray that your love will overflow more and more, and that you will keep on growing in knowledge and understanding. For I want you to understand what really matters, so that you may live pure and blameless lives until the day of Christ’s return. May you always be filled with the fruit of your salvation—the righteous character produced in your life by Jesus Christ—for this will bring much glory and praise to God.

Amen 🙂

Leave a Reply

