Moved by music

In my last blog I shared with you about the book I now have finished (yay me!) “not a fan.” Seriously, such a good read you must get it! Or better yet borrow mine ūüėČ Anyhow he suggests a few things to “re-kindle” your relationship with Christ. One of the things he suggested was to listen to worship music in your car which 85% of the time I have it on the Joyfm. Tonight was a rare occasion¬†where I was completely alone in the car, making a quick trip to Walgreen’s¬†for some anti fungal cream. Yeah that’s right.¬†Looks like Micaila may¬†have ringworm on her leg,…. bummer. Anyhow, it’s not far enough for a phone conversation which is what I usually do when I’m alone.¬†When I got in the car they began playing Natalie Grant Your Great Name. One of my absolute favorite worship songs. So I took this opportunity to belt it out to Jesus. Me, Him, and Natalie. I just LOVE songs that speak of every aspect of our relationship with Christ. My favorite verse in the whole song is “The enemy; he has to leave; at the sound of Your great name“.¬†As I was singing¬†to my¬†Father at the TOP of my lungs when I sang that verse¬†it really hit me. It’s something that I now¬†am (RE)realizing,¬†“YES! Satan has to leave when I speak the name of JESUS to him.”¬†In situations when¬†I know that satan is at work if I would believe and speak the name of Jesus, he has to leave.¬†I feel like for the first time I believe that. It’s something I’ve always known but have¬†had trouble applying from lack of belief.¬†How awesome though. And then when she goes into “Redeemer, My Healer, Lord Almighty. My savior, Defender, You are My King.” He is all of those things and more to us. If you are a Christian, you better believe satan will be after you in some way, shape, or form,….. daily. But believe these words and apply them, you can find them in HIS Word. They aren’t simply lyrics they are promises from our God. Just a few scriptures I¬†looked up¬†that make reference to¬†who God is and his power.¬†

Psalm 144:1-2 (NLT)  Praise the LORD, who is my rock.
      He trains my hands for war
      and gives my fingers skill for battle. 
  He is my loving ally and my fortress,
      my tower of safety, my rescuer.
   He is my shield, and I take refuge in him.

Psalm 44:5 (NLT) Only by your power can we push back our enemies;
      only in your name can we trample our foes.

2 Samuel 22:2-3 (NIV) The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; 
  my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge,
   my shield and the horn of my salvation.

Isaiah 40:29 (NIV) He gives strength to the weary
   and increases the power of the weak.

2 Thessalonians 3:3 (NIV) But the Lord is faithful, and he will strengthen you and protect you from the evil one.

One more song that I heard for the very first time that is quite wonderful. Phillips, Craig and Dean When the Stars Burn Down. It’s brand new, so I couldn’t find their version on youtube but these guys clearly know how to worship too and it’s amazing. Check it out.

Singing Blessing and Honor and Glory and Power forever to our God ūüôā¬†Lyrics from When the Stars Burn Down

Leave a Reply

