Where have I been…..

I didn’t check when my last post was…. I’m certain it hasn’t been more than 10 days ago however I feel like I’ve been absent from my blogging world for like months, lol. So where have I been ALLLLLLL this time 😉 we actually were at the beach house, fortunate enough to snag one last trip before the cold winter season rolled in. I think I could make a strong case that SEPTEMBER is the month to go to the beach, providing there isn’t a storm brewing in the ocean nearby. It did rain one day while we were there but it gave us the chance to hit up the outlet and stock up on our Bama gear. Other than that the weather was actually perfect. Not boiling hot and nice and cool at night. OH MY GOODNESS I just had this picture of our last evening there flash through my mind. It was a picture of me dying actually. Me, the girls, and Jake. You see we went to take a night walk on the beach…. I hadn’t gotten to take Jake for a swim yet and really wanted him to have at least one dip in the ocean. Our friends, Brian and Erika, let us borrow a collar they used to assist training their labrador, who by the way is way more well mannered at 10 months then Jake is at 2 years. Course you know what they say, “No bad dogs, just bad owners.” So we’re trying to be better owners and help Jakey boy to learn some manners, back to the beach. I’ve got Jake on the leash with his training collar, and Micaila and Ryann. We have to walk from the house, cross the main drag with some help from the “WALK” light, and make it to the beach, all at 7:00 pm on a Saturday evening. CLEARLY I did NOT factor all of those things into the scenario when I began this little adventure alone. On the way to the light I told the girls, we’ll all hold hands and walk really fast when mommy says “go!”. We get to the light and receive our “WALK” signal, off we go…… well off me, Jake and Ryann go. Micaila stays behind, and begins wailing over the fact that she’s alone. Which I get, it was dark, there were cars, I’m yelling “Come on Micaila!!! Run!” as Jake tries to drag me across, mean while Ryann has already made it. THEN, as if all that’s going on wasn’t bad enough, this awesome training collar that our friends lent us, starts falling apart! Piece by piece, I have chain links just dropping in the middle of the road. So now I have one kid on one side of the road, the other child on the other side of the road and a 130 pound dog loose! You have GOT to be kidding me. Who do I go for?!?!?! DEFINITELY NOT the dumb dog! I’m yelling at Ryann “DO NOT MOVE!” Jake takes off toward the water, I run and grab screaming Micaila and also manage to keep the traffic stopped as my turn to walk is running out. Fortunately we made it all across but my collar was still falling apart and my dog is loose on the beach with all the evening strollers. And DOG GONNIT we made it this far we are going to the beach! I did eventually catch Jake and do the looped leash thing on him. He got his swim in and we made it home safely, thank you Jesus.

And here are some pictures that I did get.

I didn’t take many this time I know….. I wasn’t as motivated since I feel like we were just there. I DID however manage to crochet a few headbands, a beanie, and started 2 scarves, so, new post with those soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

