The beginning of fundraising: My first scarf

Though we haven’t decided on an adoption program I needed to feel like we were making progress in this journey. No matter what route we go we are likely going to incur expenses with our adoption. So I thought it was a good idea to go ahead and pursue some of the ideas I have for raising funds. On Saturday I decided to learn how to crochet. With the help of some youtube videos it was quite easy and in about a day and a half I completed my first scarf.

Not perfect but not bad for my very first completed crochet project. ๐Ÿ™‚

And here it is on, showing the length. I know I look fabulous….

And a little loopage. Don’t you love my pink sports bra….

So since I didn’t do too shabby on the first scarf I thought I should purchase some more yarn and get busy.

As you can see I’ve begun another scarf, going for one that’s a little bit skinnier.

I’m hoping to learn how to make some caps and maybe some diaper covers for babies??? Definitely some more scarves though. Planning to sell them, obviously and all the money raised will go toward our adoption. Sooooo, if you want to BUY one I am even willing to purchase a color yarn you would like. I don’t know what I’ll sell them for,….. taking suggestions??? Might just do a “charitable donation” kind of thing. I’m new to this!!! Also if you or any one you know knits or crochets I would LOVE to have you donate any side projects to help raise money. You can leave aย comment if your interested in helping in that way.

Got to get to crocheting! Ta Ta for now!

7 thoughts on “The beginning of fundraising: My first scarf

  1. You look fabulous, darling, just fabulous! Ha,ha…pink sports bra and all! I think you did a great job on your scarf. I think the “donations” idea is good for friends and family..that way they can “tailor”(no pun intended) it to their faith and generosity!
    As usual, proud of you!
    Mommy

  2. Have you ever seen the crochet baby shoes? Oh my goodness, they are adorable! When you get more comfortable with crochet you should look into making those, I’m sure those would be a hot item! Let me know when you have a few different items available and I will “advertise” for you on my facebook! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I will definitely check out the baby shoes! And would LOVE to have you “advertise” on FB for me since I don’t have one. I need to figure out how I’m gonna set up everything once I get enough inventory. Let me know if you have any tips. Ebay, paypal, etsy??? Not sure what route to take, so new to this! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      • A friend of mine has an etsy store and she swears by it. She says the fees are incredibly reasonable. You will need a paypal account if you don’t already have one because that’s how others will pay you. Keep us updated, if it helps another child find their forever family, I’ll be happy to spread the word!

  3. I would LOOOOOVE to buy a charcoal gray scarf from you:)
    You should learn how to crochet a circle scarf; then you better believe I will be ordering from you!

    Good job with all the running, I wish we were as consistent and progressive as you lol.
    We are running in the Daytona Half Marathon in October and Women’s Half again this November..but I’m not to the point yet where I have to desire to go further!! Way to go:) You are my IDOL lol.

    Miss you guys:)

    Allyson

    • When I started the first scarf the video I was watching was actually a tutorial FOR a circle one! I will definitely try it out in charcoal, that actually would be a great color that matches a lot. Always trying to do things that can be versatile ๐Ÿ˜‰ And oh my goodness I can not WAIT for the marathon to be DONE! It’s not that the distance is all that difficult it’s just a huge commitment and takes so much time. And it can be so annoying because I feel like my schedule revolves around running. I’ll be happy with 1/2 marathons for a while after this. ๐Ÿ™‚ I miss you and your voice! lol. OH And I started a new Beth Moore Study, Believing God, SO GOOD! Since you love her as much as me thought I’d share that with ya ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Charcoal is my go-to color:)

    Once you get a few samples made, you should definitely open a shop on etsy!!!!

    I’m pretty sure paypal is what most vendors go through?? I just ordered a necklace from an etsy shop and it was through paypal..very effortless!

    Can’t wait to see all that you turn out:)

Leave a Reply

