Praying and Waiting revealed

Actually you all probably received the letter so it’s not really a “reveal”. It’s more just me putting it in my blog to keep track of every step. And for anyone who by whatever small chance might be reading this that doesn’t know me. This is the copy of the letter we sent out to our family and friends. If you’ve read it, scroll down and read something I posted of another families amazing story from the momma’s blog. 🙂

Dear loved ones:

For as long as I can remember I have wanted to adopt. It’s something that I know the Lord had placed on my heart at an early age and I have always intended to follow His leading on the matter. Jason and I agreed before we had children of our own that eventually we would adopt. Lately I’ve just felt the Lord telling us “Now is the time”. At least to start researching and becoming more knowledgeable on the topic. It certainly seems like an overwhelming decision. I already have felt “Man it’d be WAY easier to get pregnant!” but the point isn’t to just have another baby, (though that will probably come in time too 😉 ) the point is that the bible instructs us to take care of orphans. {Isaiah 1:17 Learn to do good. Seek justice. Help the oppressed. Defend the cause of orphans. Fight for the rights of widows. James 1:27 True devotion, the kind that is pure and faultless before God the Father, is this: to care for orphans and widows in their difficulties and to keep the world from contaminating us.} I believe the Lord calls us to serve and portray HIS love in many different ways and some feel called to adopt. Jason and I feel very strongly about adopting. Because I am already a mother and will be in this “season” of life for the next 20+ years, I think this has a lot to do with why I feel called to foster and/or adopt. I’m here, taking care of and loving my biological children, why not take in and love a child that desperately needs a place to call home.

This is what we have been praying and waiting for. At first I was anxious and ready to go overseas and bring home a baby. Save the world one child at a time I guess. But through out this time of prayer my eyes have been opened to numerous things. There are many different routes you can take with adoption. There is infant adoption (domestic and international), there is state adoption (usually older children, sibling groups, or special needs children) and there is fostering to adopt. There are also many different costs and processes associated with each kind of adoption. Ideally we would love to adopt a baby internationally but the reality is infant adoption is expensive and there are a lot of couples who are willing to adopt babies. We know there is a great need for families who are willing to adopt children that have been in foster care. And we feel this is the direction God is leading us in.

It’s not a fairy tale. It’s not about bringing home a perfect, healthy, baby, and having a perfect life with our perfect family. It’s a way to exemplify Christ love. And that is not always easy but it IS gratifying being obedient to Him. There are so many children waiting to be adopted. And I wish we could adopt them all. But that’s not realistic…… However, we CAN do our best to love the ones God brings into our lives. And that is why Jason and I have decided to look into fostering and state adoption (children waiting).

The bottom line is that we want to do what God wants us to do. His will is perfect and we know what He wills will be best for EVERYONE, including our existing family.

In September, Jason and I will be more seriously looking into foster care and adoption. This will include our first information meeting with Bethany Christian Services September 8th. After our first meeting, if we feel confident in moving forward, we will be required to complete a 2 hour orientation and then 20 hours of IMPACT training. Once we have done those things we will have a home study and upon completion of a home study we should be approved to foster or adopt. If we move right into adoption it can take on average 9 months to have a child placed with you. Fostering obviously is different and can either be temporary or a permanent placement and could move much quicker.

We have already been praying for these next steps, the emotional and mental preparations, praying for wisdom and guidance along the way and also for who ever God brings into our family whether we end up fostering or adopting. Our biggest prayer is that who ever does come into our home would feel loved by us, our family, and most importantly by Christ.

We’d like for all our loved ones to join us on this journey and pray for our family along the way. We welcome questions, if you have any. If you know someone who would be interested in praying and hearing about this, please feel free to pass it along. You can also follow future updates on the process at our family blog, but I will try to send out email’s when anything “big” happens. 🙂 It’s for Him and Him alone.

For His glory,
Katie and Jason

Through out the course of this time we have been surrounded by many people who are involved in adoption in some way. It’s been a blessing to hear their testimonies and eye opening as well. We know adoption/fostering is no easy task. But I read this wonderful blog Good To Be Crazy that you MUST check out. Specifically there Once Upon a Time Story I hope she doesn’t mind me sharing this part of her story because she made such a wonderful and convicting point that I took very seriously.

She says ” The little family had big dreams. They dreamed of building a big, beautiful home on the lot of their tiny 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom house. They dreamed of taking their two childen on exotic, international trips every summer. They dreamed of country club memberships and educating their children at the very best private schools in Atlanta. The Mommy dreamed of upholstered furniture and custom window treatments for each room of their home. The Daddy dreamed of a lake house and early retirement and expanding his stock portfolio.

And then one night in the midst of all this dreaming the Lord gripped our hearts – both mine and Dan’s at the same time (what a blessing!). He gripped our hearts, gripped our faces in His beautiful hands and said to us… “My children, do you really think I went to the cross for THIS? For your abundance? For your comfort? For you to live in outrageous luxury in comparison to the rest of the world?

Do you think the point of your life is to make things as easy and comfortable and as fun as possible?

If so, you are missing it. You’re missing your calling and you will miss the blessings I have for you. Because this life you are dreaming of is not the Christian life – it’s just man’s invention and it’s called The American Dream.”

Reading that hit me and confirmed even more that we needed to pursue adoption. And we needed to look at those children that NEED homes. Not specifically a pretty little girl or a handsome little boy, that could resemble us, and has no medical or behavioral needs.God does not have a “criteria” for this so why should we? We need to leave the door WIDE open for God to work. (Something else Shelly states in her Once Upon a Time blog. Seriously, read it, it’s so good!)

Anyway, I’ll wrap this up with some verses that I hold tightly to.

Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect. Romans 12:2, NLT
 
But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.” Acts 1:8 ESV
 
But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all the truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come. John 16:13 NIV 
 
May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. Romans 15:13 NIV
5 thoughts on “Praying and Waiting revealed

  1. Hey Katie and Jason,
    How are you guys doing? I hope all is well with you. I just wanted to say that I think that you are doing such an AMAZING thing. You guys will be AMAZING and will help so many children. I am DEFINITELY proud to say that you are friends of mine. I will definitely be praying you guys and for your family and that God will bring the perfect addition (in his eyes) to your family. I can not wait to see more post about this new and exciting path you and your family has decided to go down.

    I too have had that little voice in the back of my head saying that I need to help children and younger people. I have decided to start my own Girl Scout Troop in Tampa Palms and will HOPEFULLY be able to help out with our Youth Group at Lake Magdalene United Methodist. I feel like if I can help just one little girl by giving her a funny, loving, and secure environment by going to Girl Scouts or being that one person that a teenager feels that they can come to talk to and feel comfortable around me then I have made a very SMALL difference. God has blessed me in more ways than I can count in the last few years and I want to share that with younger people :).. THANK YOU for being an inspiration and for ALWAYS showing me the right path to living Christ in your heart. You guys have truly inspired me through out the years and continue to put a smile on my face by letting me know that I too can have the same happiness.

    Best wishes and Much love,
    Jenda Zch

    • Jenda you are always so very encouraging and I appreciate you taking the time to write us. 🙂 Thank you for your support and prayers. Everything we do is for Him and couldn’t/wouldn’t be done with out Him. Very cool to hear about some of the journeys you are embarking on. God will definitely use you, I have no doubt. I’m always amazed to see how he uses my messy, broken life for his beautiful wonderful purposes. God is good!

  2. I don’t know you, and to be honest I don’t even know how I came to find this blog aside from the obvious prompting of the Holy Spirit. I am 26 years old and when I was 6 months pregnant with my son, the opportunity to adopt sort of just fell into my lap. It was something I always felt strongly about so even though it seemed crazy, on our one year wedding anniversary…while I was 6 months pregnant we took in our precious baby girl. Her tummy mommy was my cousin and my precious girl was only 6 weeks old at the time. I want to encourage you that although it will be a roller coaster of emotions, that adoption is such an incredibly life changing way to expand your family. You will find that the child you adopt will not only be better off because they have you…YOU will be better off having them. We are now a family of 3 and may consider adoption again further down the line. If you ever need encouragement, prayer, etc. as you continue down this long journey of “paper pregnancy” (haha!) I am happy to offer that having been there myself. May the Lord bless you and your husband in your continued service to Him! And may the hearts you have inspire others to live their lives the same way!

  3. This is some exciting stuff:)
    Way to be an excellent example of following what the Lord has ordained us to do. I’m excited for you guys and look forward to seeing where it leads!!

    Allyson McNutt

  4. I am so excited for you all and I am deeply encouraged by you. I am very blesses to have you as my sister in law. I am and will continue to pray for all of you. Those children will be truly blessed!

    Love you,
    Jamie

Leave a Reply

