A Week to Remember

It’s not all that ironic that I would write a blog loaded with compliments for my dad and husband. However, it is quite awesome that I would do it before I came home to a very unexpected surprise. I knew Jason had been doing a stand up job caring for our girls and holding down the fort. What I didn’t know was all the EXTRA work ON the house he was doing. Like converting the girls old bedroom into our new media room. Painting…… lots of painting. And building a headboard for our guest bedroom. (Don’t you wanna come stay with us now 🙂 ) I was totally blown away, not only with the work he had done but by the fact that he had the girls with him too! Jason is really great about allowing the girls to “help” with projects. I personally stink at that. I get stressed out letting them run around with a paint brush while I’m working, go figure right. But not him, he lets them go to town. They actually painted the frames for the posters they picked out to hang on the wall. (I asked Jason where Justin was going to hang, and he said “Yeah the girls tried but I wouldn’t let them” lol) I’m glad Tangled made the cut 😉 Everything just looks so so good. As I’ve said before, Jason is a better decorator then I am. So it was really great that he took all the stress away by picking the paint color, buying the couch, hanging the pictures, and framing the tv out. Mad props Jay!

Here are some photos of all his work 🙂 First we have the upstairs guest bathroom. A nice coat of paint and a little switcharoo with the shower curtain. Now I just have to find one for downstairs 🙂

Next we have the guest bedroom. The “headboard” is actually the same idea as wainscoting, and a really great inexpensive way to create the look of a headboard.  Jason also is the one who painted our old end tables to make them look “antique” and I also had bought the dresser (along with the chest from the girls room) at a garage sale. Originally the dresser and chest were this light green color but we went for the white antique look. He did a great job.

Still a lot of things that could be done but certainly not at the top of my priority list. Besides, I would hate to invest a whole lot in that room if we plan to use it as a nursery some time soon 😉 

And next we have the media room, which will probably get the most use. Next to the bathroom that is. Still kept the girls section for their toys. Obviously some are hidden in the closet. LOVE having a closet in here!

Hung and framed the flat screen. Makes it look bigger! Jason said that cost him about 20 bucks to do!

And the couch and pictures the girls framed. I REALLY like the couch! We were also able to use the coffee table I bought for our old house at Big Lots 🙂 And the old rug from under the pool table and an old end table. Very exciting when you have furniture already!

I’m not sure what happened while I was gone in Florida,….  I have felt so loved by my husband and am very happy to be home. Wednesday he even woke me up with flowers and coffee and a love letter. I know, I’ll stop….. It certainly isn’t always like this but I sure do enjoy it when it issss 🙂  🙂  🙂

Kelli got to witness the exciting changes! I had to keep telling her “I swear, it wasn’t like this when I left.” 🙂 Jason also was very gracious AND generous enough to suggest Kelli and I going out to dinner at Dantes Down the Hatch. The fondu restaurant that he and I spent Valentines Day at. So Wednesday Kelli and I got dressed, left all 3 girls with him and headed out for our ladies night. We sat right above the band on the deck of the ship and stuffed our faces full of fondu! That place just has the coolest atmosphere, we had a great time.

Cheese fondu and salad…. I didn’t get a photo of our “Mandarin Fondu” which is steak, pork, chicken, and shrimp. yummm.

The ONLY disappointment was when we went to order chocolate fondu we were sadly informed that they only serve it to parties of 6-12 and with a 2 day advanced notice. Lame. However, this chocolate fudge cake hit the spot. 🙂

They have some great props for photos 🙂 Kelli in the salon 🙂

Me on the old school phone.

And then there was THIS creep peeking through the window behind the curtain in the ladies bathroom! Freaky!

Good food, great friend, great fun!

The rest of the week was full of fun as well. We enjoyed having Kelli and Lucy here, going to the pool, and just sharing our new home and life with our friends we love so much.

Lucy and I swimming together. I felt honored that she trusted me so much in the water 🙂

Sweet GG 🙂

The Rose!!! I missed this baby 🙂 She just turned one too!

Nothing like a good ol’ bubble bath.

Kelli gave the girls some fresh hair cuts. M got some layers and R got a cute little bob.

 

Far cry from the hot mess it was 😉 However she doesn’t look like a little baby anymore 😦

God is good and I am once again overwhelmed with gratitude for all he has blessed our family with. 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Week to Remember

  1. It was so nice to spend time with you and your family. The house looks beautiful and I enjoyed seeing your new surroundings 🙂 Hope to come again soon! And we are sooooo going back to that antique shop! I miss you like crazy!!! Thanks for everything and thanks to J also for the hospitality!!!

Leave a Reply

