Dads

I realize that it would have been more appropriate had I posted this yesterday, but better late than never.

First of all, my dad is the man! And of course I say that coming from a favorite child’s perspective 😉 Setting aside the obvious fact that he is a pastor which makes him a “Man of God” I have witnessed behind closed-door that he truly is. I’ve grown up watching him seek Christ on a daily basis and I’ve seen what a commitment to Christ should look like in your daily life.

I have never gone a day not feeling loved by my dad. Even in my emotional, irrational, teenage years when days came that I didn’t “like” my dad, I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that he wanted my best interest.

My dad has always affirmed me with words and showered me with affection to show that he loves me, he’s proud of me, and he’s told me how grateful to God he is for me.

What this has exemplified to myself and Jason is what the relationship between father and daughter should look like. And I am so unbelievably proud and thankful that Jason is already seeking the Godly standard on how to be a good daddy. Jason may have flaws but I can confidently sit here and say that he is by far one of the best dads. My father would even argue (with me) that he is a FAR better dad then he was. Tough argument 🙂 Either way, God has blessed me richly and it has not gone unnoticed.

This past week, on the heals of our beach trip, I came home with my sister-in-law on Sunday the 12th. Jason graciously went back to Georgia to hold down the fort, all the animals, AND he took M and R with him. Now of course he would have loved it had I brought them here but it made more sense travel wise not to. He has not once complained about me being gone or taking care of the girls or indicated he wants me home TO take care of them. What he has done is enjoyed the precious time with them, taught them how to READ off flash cards, (Your baby CAN read, lol) And basically has just allowed me to come down here, recoup, be rejuvenated, enjoy socializing, and all GUILT FREE. I can’t help but boast about him. This makes me so proud of who he is in Christ, because I know that he is allowing the Holy Spirit to lead his actions and not the flesh. And all this leading up to Father’s Day….. what a man!

I can’t wait to go home to him and shower him with love and thanks.

To conclude, thanks to all our godly fathers out there. Our only chance at parenting is if we seek Christ and allow the Spirit to lead us. I’m thankful for my dad, who took such special interest in raising his daughter. I’m not perfect but I know I could be WAY worse off 🙂 Love your kids, protect them, shower them with affection, “Train up a child in the way he should go…” Proverbs 22:6

One thought on “Dads

Leave a Reply

