Lakes are cool too!

So this weekend our couples Bible study class hosted a picnic at a local park. It was a pretty cool Lake Park that had a nice big sandy beach area. The lakes here are all REALLY BIG. Not like the lakes I’m used to in Land O’ Lakes. So it’s actually an okay compromise for the beach. In fact, if we had a boat, I’d probably say it’s a GREAT compromise to the beach. Maybeeee….. anyway, I got some really great pictures of the girls that I must share. 🙂

Daddy loves his girls

🙂

T-R-O-U-B-L-E

My sweet girls, love those outfits from NeeNee 🙂

M took that picture, with my giant DSLR. Pretty good huh?

On another note, I started reading through James again. Boy did I need a refresher on this book. I was really struck by James 1:22 Do not merely listen to the Word and so decieve yourselves. Do what it says. (NIV)

Of course I looked it up in other translations because that really helps it to sink in.

NLT- But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves.

The Message-Don’t fool yourself into thinking that you are a listener when you are anything but, letting the Word go in one ear and out the other. Act on what you hear!

Inititially when you read it, it seems rather “simple” and could easily “go in one ear and out the other”. But it caused me to once again examine myself and be sure that I am a DOER of the Word and not just listening and thinking that’s “enough”. I absolutely do not want to be living out a “dead Faith”. I want my Faith to be one that is rich and obvious to others because they can SEE me acting on what the Word of God says. This can often be hard for those of us that are mothers and stay at home. Who’s watching us?? Yep, our children. Which happen to be VERY important little eyes and souls. It’s easy to forget and think some of what we do doesn’t matter and isn’t impacting the kingdom. But that’s a lie from satan, (that I frequently fall for). So I encourage you other mommies out there (and those of you who are out working in the world) Colossians 3:23-24 Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people. Remember that the Lord will give you an inheritance as your reward, and that the Master you are serving is Christ.

Whether it’s cooking, cleaning, laundry, playing with your kids, disciplining, or LOVING, do it all for His glory. Be encouraged by the fact that your job as a mommy is VERY important and you’ll never know just how many lives you touch by being the mommy God has created you to be.

That’s all for now….. Happy Monday!

One thought on “Lakes are cool too!

  1. Wow, Kate! Great pics and great insight! So true…it is easy to think our “little part” doesn’t really count. Then I remind myself, whatever you do…do it all to the glory of God! At that point, I remember, it’s all important to God!
    M did an awesome job on that pic of you & Jason. I swear she is going to be a photographer!

Leave a Reply

