An Encouraging Word

God will deepen our faith, cultivate our character, and water our parched hearts.

~Patsy Clairmont~

Marilyn Meberg writes in Managing Your Moods chapter 7

“I love plants. My home and office wouldn’t seem quite the same without green things scattered about. I’ve had ivies, ferns, gardenias, cyclamen, ficus trees, lemon trees, peace plants, palms, shamrocks, and sweet potato vines. Over the years I’ve had varying degrees of success with these plants, mainly because I sometimes forget to water them. Now, a plant can get along okay without spritzing and dusting and fertilizing, but when you forget to water it, it just shrivels up and dies. The end. That’s why most of my plants are philodendrons. They’re virtually indestructible. They even bounce back if you forget to water them for a week or so. They take my absentmindedness in stride.

Sometimes I think my heart is like a philodendron, because I don’t always take good care of it. It gets dusty with disuse and I forget to feed it. Worse, I withhold it from God, and it suffers times of drought. But whenever I come to my senses and return to the Lord, my heart is soaked in living water and revives.”

Jeremiah 31:25 (NLT) For I have given rest to the weary and joy to the sorrowing.

Matthew 11:28 (NLT) Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.

It never ceases to amaze me how God speaks to us at just the right moments with exactly what we need to hear from him. I found this part of the devotional so encouraging that I just wanted to share it and maybe God will use it to encourage  someone else.

For His Glory Alone,

Katie

One thought on “An Encouraging Word

Leave a Reply

