Overcoming anxiety

The Lord answered a prayer I’ve been asking Him over the last few weeks, “Draw me close Lord. I want to feel your presence Lord.” Coincidentally He used one of my biggest struggles, anxiety, to bring me to my knees. Anxiety is a funny thing if you’ve chronically experienced it. Sometimes it can be over something serious and sometimes it can be over something that seems minor. In either instance the feeling of anxiety can be equally intense. Anxiety can be annoying, puzzling and scary. And the absolute best way to deal with it is by seeking Him in prayer. Philippians 4:6 Do not be anxious about anything but in every situation by prayer and petition present your requests to God. So as I was trying to mentally ward off my anxiety I finally told Jason “Listen I need 25 minutes in the bedroom totally alone with God. Unbothered.” So I retreated. As usual I equipped myself with my bible, journal, pen, and some Christian music playing low. And this is how it went. I open up this moment to you b/c I know how frustrating and painful anxiety can be. And this evening I felt a lot of freedom and comfort when I went to God and told him:

Laying this anxiety over to you Lord. “My God is mighty to save…” even from something like anxiety.

Psalm 94:19 (CEV) And when I was burdened with worry you comforted me and made me feel secure.

1 Peter 5:7 (NIV) Cast all your anxiety on Him for He cares for you.

Matthew 6:34 (NIV) Therefore do not worry about tomorrow for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of it’s own.

Thank you Lord for your Word and the promises you have given us in your Word. As weird as this sounds thank you for bringing me to a place that made me realize I need YOU and I need moments like this with you. If my anxiety keeps me coming back to you than I thank you for it. I honestly would endure anything if it meant I would draw even closer to you.

Here am I, all of me, take my life, it’s all for Thee. *Passion*

The cry of my heart is to bring you praise from the inside out of my soul. *Seventh Day Slumber*

These chains are gone, Emmanuel, God with us. *Mercy Me*

These are all lyrics from songs that played as I was praying and reading the Word and being comforted. It amazes me how He always has the right music playing. 🙂

You hold my very moment, you calm my raging seas… I believe you are all I need. *Kari Jobe*

Hungry I come to you for I know you satisfy, I am empty but I know your love does not run dry. *Joy Williams*

And I’m saving the best song for last. I had to look up the lyrics b/c it was just the piano playing but it was such a familiar beautiful song.

Be still, my soul:
the Lord is on thy side.
Bear patiently
the cross of grief or pain.
Leave to thy God
to order and provide;
In every change,
He faithful will remain.
Be still, my soul:
thy best, thy heavenly Friend
Through thorny ways
leads to a joyful end.

Be still, my soul:
thy God doth undertake
To guide the future,
as He has the past.
Thy hope, thy confidence
let nothing shake;
All now mysterious
shall be bright at last.
Be still, my soul:
the waves and winds
still know His voice
Who ruled them
while He dwelt below.

Be still, my soul:
when dearest friends depart,
And all is darkened
in the vale of tears,
Then shalt thou better know
His love, His heart,
Who comes to soothe
thy sorrow and thy fears.
Be still, my soul:
thy Jesus can repay
From His own fullness
all He takes away.

Be still, my soul:
the hour is hastening on
When we shall be
forever with the Lord.
When disappointment,
grief, and fear are gone,
Sorrow forgot,
love’s purest joys restored.
Be still, my soul:
when change and tears are past,
All safe and blessed
we shall meet at last.

Be still, my soul:
begin the song of praise
On earth, believing,
to thy Lord on high;
Acknowledge Him
in all thy works and ways,
So shall He view
thee with a well-pleased eye.
Be still, my soul:
the Sun of life divine
Through passing clouds
shall but more brightly shine.

One thought on “Overcoming anxiety

  1. Aye, Katie, my girl…you are so right on!
    Do you know that last song/hymn was one of that I used to “settle you down” every afternoon before your nap when you were little. It was on the Second Chapter of Acts Hymns CD.
    Music is very important to God! It has a powerful effect on our spirit, i.e., David and King Saul. Also, when you read any account of heaven you will notice music is a BIG part of it.
    I love you!

Leave a Reply

