Spirit controlled

So as most of you know, because I highly doubt anyone I don’t know is reading this blog, that Jason and I currently work from home. Our jobs have been HUGE blessings in our life in a number of ways. But one thing is for sure, husbands and wives are not meant to spend every waking moment together. And men are wired to be out working in the “field”. Whatever that field may be.

So this whole business of being together 24/7 has really been taking its toll…. on me specifically. Don’t get me wrong, I love my husband very much. Do I like being with him every waking moment…. well that’s debatable 😉 Let’s be honest people, this situation is not normal. Jason and I have been here before too. The saying “Absence makes the heart grow fonder”…. yeah we need some of that absence. When you are around your spouse constantly you both start to critique each others day and how the other spends their time. Satan creeps in and starts planting little ideas that I completely have fallen for and owned. Like the idea that “The house is my domain, its my job to cook, clean, take care of the kids…. he needs to get his own job!” and then like 5 minutes later I’ll be wishing he’d help more! Jason does help a lot…. the fact is once we’ve completed our “work” there is only so much cleaning two people can do in one home.

What the REAL problem is, is this. I have been lacking discipline in my quiet times. (So has Jason but I’ll try to keep this about me here.) What needs to happen is I need to be more Spirit controlled and less Katie controlled. I guarantee that if you have found a problem in your life, if you were to examine yourself, undoubtedly you would find that you need to allow the Spirit to be in control more and not yourself. I have found that everything goes back to allowing Him to control me. My thoughts, my actions, my everything.

So how do you allow Him to be in control? (Boy this sounds just like a sermon my dad preached) By filling yourself WITH Him. Using the tools he’s given us. As much as you can fill your ears, heart, and mind with Him.

Ephesians 6:17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

1.) Read your bible. It’s not always going to make perfect sense. I frequently find myself confused when reading the Word. But He always reveals something to me. And when I come across it, I write it down in my journal. And the more I read the more I understand and the more I WANT to read.

John 3:6 Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit.

Romans 8:5 Those who live according to the flesh have their minds set on what the flesh desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires.

2.) Converse with Him.

Ephesians 6:18 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.

Every chance you get. It doesn’t have to be a formal quiet time. When I reflect on times in my life that I know my relationship with God was tight I recall that I talked to him all the time. In the car, in bed, in the shower even! It was like any time I had a quiet moment I would use it to pray.

3.) Scripture memory. I’m awful about this. But recently I did memorize Ephesians 4:29 Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouth but only what is helpful to building up others according to their needs so that it may benefit those who listen. And let me tell ya, whenever the Holy Spirit thinks this verse needs to come to mind it does. I struggle with lots of things and if I memorized scripture specific to each struggle, well I’d be much better equipped to overcome them, right?

Romans 8:26  In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.

4.) I find Christian music helps. I love all kinds of music, I even like rap, sue me. But Christian music often uses things right out of God’s Word and when I listen to it and sing it its worship. And it draws me that much closer to Him.

Colossians 3:16 Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts.

Being a Christian is a wonderful blessing and gift. However, following Christ is not always easy. If someone told you it would be well they misinformed you. Following Christ is a choice you have to make every day (for me sometimes more than once!) and the key is to be obedient and don’t give up. The more time you spend with Him, the more time you WANT to spend with Him. The more you fill yourself with Him the more He pours out of you. Outflow 😉 right dad!  The Spirit working through me can love my family more than I alone ever could. The Spirit has my best interest and my loved ones best interest. The more Spirit Controlled I am well…. that’s less Katie that’s coming through and more Christ, can’t go wrong there.

Romans 15:13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Isaiah 11:2 The Spirit of the LORD will rest on him—
   the Spirit of wisdom and of understanding,
   the Spirit of counsel and of might,
   the Spirit of the knowledge and fear of the LORD—

One thought on “Spirit controlled

Leave a Reply

