Think before you speak

I feel as if I’m learning more every day how impactful your words are. I’ve always been a pretty sensitive person and I like to think I’m sensitive to the feelings of others. My mom always tells me I’m much like my Aunt Marybeth b/c we both are keenly aware of things that could be hurtful to others. So I feel like as a friend and person in general I try pretty hard not to be rude or insensitive or say things flippantly that could be hurtful even unintentionally. The downside to this though is that I tend to read into things and make the mistake of misinterpreting what OTHERS say. This is a major reason why I don’t like to use text message and I do not have a facebook. I feel like both of those methods of communication can easily lead to miscommunication and I myself even having been offended with out the other person even knowing, maybe not even meaning too. Immediately when my heart starts to sink and my mind begins to wander I know Satan is on the prowl to destroy a relationship. That’s what he loves to do right? He loves to divide friends and family. So I go to the Lord in prayer and ask for the strength to move beyond this and pray and seek Him for reassurance of where my confidence, worth, and value come from ultimately and that’s Him. Sometimes when I receive or see something that seems like a jab in my oh so sensitive spirit, the Katie in me wants to respond back and let that person know that what they said hurt. But the Bible says  A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger. Proverbs 15:1 And I belive this goes two ways. 1 being that if you use harsh words it could stir up anger in the person you are directing them at. But for me, if I use a soft answer in response to something someone said to me, I avoid the anger that a harsh word I could have used might stir up within myself. If you think about it, the more you focus on something negative the more angry and bitter you begin to feel. It never makes you feel happy to speak harshly to or about someone. Atleast not me. I believe that’s the Holy Spirit at work within me. For the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God. James 1:20

But while I’m writing on this subject I also want to challenge myself and those who may read this to think twice about comments you make and things you say. Maybe think two or three times in fact. Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger….  James 1:19

This is one of my favorite verses and I love how the Amplified Bible translates it.  Ephesians 4:29 Let no foul or polluting language, nor evil word nor unwholesome or worthless talk ever come out of your mouth, but only such speech as is good and beneficial to the spiritual progress of others, as is fitting to the need and the occasion, that it may be a blessing and give grace (God’s favor) to those who hear it.

When I look at my speech through the filter God views it, I can recognize that some serious change should occur. If we are striving to lift Him up in all we say, then anything that could be hurtful to one of his sons or daughters is offensive to Him. Did you know your speech can even be selfish? Making remarks that voice you only are concerned about YOU is not glorifying to Him. Because it’s not about us, it’s all about Him and what brings glory and honor to His name. So I’m going to re evaluate my speech, maybe even make some appologies to a few people. It may not even seem like a big deal to ourselves but could we have been offensive??? Should we seek to glorify God with our speech by not being selfish and hurtful to others. I think so. And I think this might be a good New Years Resolution, (if I may go all cheesy on you with the resolutions 😉 )

PS: I will post a blog with pictures from all the blessings of Christmas. Soon to come 😉

3 thoughts on “Think before you speak

  1. Beautifully said, my friend. If I ever say anything to offend you, I will have no idea. I am not usually sensitive to others feelings as I am soooooo consumed with myself!! (He’s still workin’ on me! Thank goodness He doesn’t give up!) That being said, PLEASE tell me! I will want to fix it!!!! I love and miss you!! It was nice to get my Katie fix!!!

    • Oh no girl, you’ve never offended me =) I’m so sorry we had to dip out on your goodbye so fast. Thank you thank you thank you soooooo much for bringing me starbucks and saying one more goodbye. It meant the world to me =)

  2. Katie – such wisdom, thanks for the reminder that words are so very powerful. Especially now, being out in the work field where gossip and nagitive talk is ever present we need to be aware that we are to be the light and salt in this world. Thanks for sharing! I enjoy keeping up with your family and seeing the pictures of your beautiful children. I don’t often have time to comment but you are a blessing! Love, Aunt Darlene

Leave a Reply

